We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #40 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn Gaslamp on a long weekend. The staff was very helpful. Nikki was able to check us in early when we got into San Diego earlier than planned. Cathy made dinner reservations for us. The only downside of the stay was a little bit of street noise that I'm sensitive to.

As always, Residence Inn has a great breakfast.

All in all it was a great trip. I plan on staying there again when I'm back for business.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doopysmiles3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,084 - 1,088 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband, my 2yrs old and I stayed at this hotel and our customer experience was fabulous. We travelled world wide and we can say without any doubt that the service we received there was simply the best.

United Airlines broke the handle of our stroller and they were not able to find it. When we arrived at the hotel, we mentioned this to the front desk employee and by the time we checked in, she had find and called a luggage store nearby to get it fixed.

From the front desk to the valet parking, each employee provided great personalized advices (restaurants, attractions to visit, grocery stores etc.).

The hotel is also perfectly located. Many attractions are walking distance (Stadium, the Horton's Plaza Mall, Seaport Village, children playground) and for those who are further away, the trolley station is a block away.

We stayed in several Residence Inn hotels, this is simply the best. The room was a good size, clean, comfortable and soundproof. The free breakfast was very good, same for hotel restaurant.

We would go back there anytime!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Arrived Saturday and got lucky with street parking. We did not pay for valet during our stay. We called earlier in the day to request a king bed. We were not able to select that online. They said they noted our request. At check-in we were told that they only had queens available. If we had been staying more than 2 nights this would have been a big problem for us but the check-in staff was very friendly. The room was very nice. The layout of the room. was a little strange. The bathroom sink is right next to the bed outside of the bathroom door. The breakfast selection was very nice and the staff was very attentive and cleaned up the tables after people were finished very quickly. Very nice stay. Really glad we had the car to explore more of the area. Ocean Beach, Old Town, Balboa Park and Little Italy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrissyOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Great people at the desk. Good value for our money. Convenient location to explore the Gaslamp Quarter and the San Diego Zoo. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Love the conviniance, location, and amenities. My wife and I came to sandiego to celebrate our 8 year wedding annaversary. So many restaurants with in walking distance. We took the train. It was EZ to get around.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joelcjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 356 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7186
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: €149 - €341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing