We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service! Will definitely come back again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #35 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best Service! Will definitely come back again!”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Like others had already said, their service is unparalleled ;even I already knew their service is good, after staying I felt it's beyond my expectation. Every staff at front desk is extremely helpful; the deign of the hotel is kind of modern, bright, and comfortable. I could see Petco Park from my room although there was no game in March. Wifi is free. Though I did have some billing problem during my stay, Peyton and the manager Darren helped to fixed it as soon as possible. I also love their wake-up call. The only thing I didn't like is their breakfast: small in portion, taste is plain, and charge is a little bit high. Ask the front desk a 10% coupon for "Broken Yolk" which is 3 blocks away. Generally speaking it's a wonderful stay and I would definitely come back to this hotel if I need to visit San Diego again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms (like X14, X16) on higher floors may have a view to Petco Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dino1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
dino1228,

The title of your review alone is what we strive to see. We work to make each guest’s experience as unique as possible & it sounds like our top notch staff was able to do just that for you. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to Peyton & Darren at the Front Desk as well as we know they will be thrilled to hear them. Thank you again for your review & we hope to see you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,024
    517
    127
    36
    35
See reviews for
217
674
115
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed for 6 days for a conference. It was rainy and cold the whole time and our heat didn't work. It took 2 days and asking 3 times to have the heat fixed. Also, the safe didn't work. That also took 3 requests and 2 days to get fixed. The same goes for the shower head. The room was otherwise nice, clean but quite noisy during the day. When we needed amenities, the hotel staff readily provided them. Finally, the gym — albeit it nice looking — didn't have much in the way of equipment or free weights. For the same price, I would instead try a larger, high-end, hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the street level are loud. Pick a room on a higher floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geeta Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It’s great to see you liked the in-house gym & the hotel amenities that were provided. We apologize for the heater issue you had during the stay but are glad to see it was able to get resolved. We appreciate your feedback as we use all comments in training with our staff. We hope you give us a second chance to inspire you again with improved service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012 via mobile

Stayed here March 11 for a couple of days. Received great service, breakfast was well done and staff was great. The open lobby and restaurant was a nice place to eat. Walking distance to great restaurants and hotel room was clean, bright and all very well laid out. Would recommend.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your compliments of our passionate & friendly staff and are so pleased to hear they made a positive impression during your stay. We’re glad to see you liked our Table 509 restaurant as well. Hopefully next time you get the chance to check out our beautiful Level 9 terrace bar. Come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I would like to commend your employees but in particular Sergio on making my trip to San Diego easy during a difficult time in my life. I travel for work on a weekly basis and at the moment I'm undergoing thyroid Cancer treatment that requires me to carry my own food due to diet restrictions. I can't eat anything that its been made already as I can't have any dairy, soy, fish or salt! I brought my "tasty food" with me and Sergio went above and beyond to help me heat up my food so I could eat. He will go to the employee break room, heat up food for me and bring it back to me. He put a smile on my face! What made me appreciate even more all he was doing for me was when he asked me if I needed silverware and I said I had some with me. He asked me if they were plastic ones and I said yes. His reply by saying that he would not allow me to use plastic that ai deserve real ones. So he went and got me a pair of silver wear wrapped in linen. That made my day. Little things that make you feel special, and he did. Your staff was amazing, your rooms are beautiful and clean and I just can't wait to come back. Please pass my appreciation to Sergio.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triflygirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Triflygirl91,

Reviews like yours are exactly what we like to see from our guests. Our staff strives to go above & beyond just as you said, for each guest & it sounds like Sergio did just that. We are proud to have wonderful people like him working for us & are thrilled when their actions are recognized. Thank you again for your glowing review. We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed for the SD half marathon and had a great time. We booked last minute on hotwire and were treated great. I made a couple of special requests that they accommodated and it made our stay very comfortable. I had read that third-party bookers were treated differently but did not find that to be the case in the very least. In fact the service was professional from the curb to the room. Sergio Navarro was exceptional! We left our very nice camera behind and he quickly reviewed security tape to find us and call us before we left town. I have accidentally left other electronics behind while traveling I have never seen anyone care as much, just a sincerely nice attitude. We went upstairs to the bar and you really could watch a ball game from up there with an unobstructed view of the entire field with the exception of the corner of right field. Great concept of a 'green' hotel that makes you feel good about supporting this type of hotel. Located close to the Park, good restaurants, and easy to get to, I look forward to coming again next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McClung_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
McClung_12,

Thank you for your review! Your compliments of our staff are exactly what like to see from our guests as our helpful & pleasant staff strives to create a unique guest experience. Maybe next time you’re in town you can catch a baseball game on our Level 9 terrace. We hope you choose Hotel Indigo next time you’re in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4,262 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing