We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast in La Jolla”
Review of The French Gourmet

The French Gourmet
Reserve with OpenTable
The French Gourmet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #359 of 5,588 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Pacific Beach
Cross street: Cass Street
Description: The French Gourmet has served San Diego with the city's finest full-service catering since 1979. We are leading professionals in San Diego for wedding receptions, holiday catering, social catering, and corporate catering. In addition to our large catering services, The French Gourmet is well known for its casual and quaint San Diego French restaurant and bakery in La Jolla. A versatile San Diego caterer, our products are all prepared fresh daily on the premises. The dishes conjured up in our kitchen reflect a commitment to originality, freshness and the celebration of taste. Our San Diego catering experts work with you to create a menu and style that will compliment your event and your budget. As a local catering company, we can provide you with china, glassware, place settings, skirted tables, party equipment rentals, waiters and bartenders, and refer you to many of San Diego's top event specialists.
Reviewed 6 February 2018

This is lovely little bistrot in MIssion Beach CA on Turquoise Street that serves B, L and D and brunch on Sundays. The food and excellent, the pastries like those from Provence and enough temptation to make you want to skip the beach and indulge in one more sip of champagne and a delectable pastry.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

This is the total french bistro experience. The entrance is a bakery with every the decadent pastry. The all day menu will please any palate. The ambiance, service and food will bring you back soonest !

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Stacheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We throughly enjoyed a nice dinner here. The food was well prepared, well seasoned, nice portion sizes. Onion soup was perfect. Vegetables were perfectly cooked. Desserts were great. The service was exceptionally friendly and efficient. Charming place, cozy, and very nice ambience. We enjoyed it enough to return for breakfast which was also excellent!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sojourner2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Loved this place. It has the comfortable and friendly feel of a French neighborhood bistro. It is small, the tables close together, and the food delicious. Lots of French comfort food, well-prepared and reasonably priced. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wanderlust1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefrenchgourmet, General Manager at The French Gourmet, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you so much, and we're really glad you enjoyed your evening here! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

Friends told us to go there. The lunch menu was good and the dinner menu looks even better (rabbit, duck, lamb, etc.). The onion and pumpkin soups were very good. The skirt steaks were also delicious and perfectly cooked as were the vegetables. The fries are addictive. We will be back for dinner for sure.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to The French Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing