We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, good location and very nice and helpful staff!”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #24 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Driving around looking for a place to stay we found Dolphin Motel by chance. They had one room left which as far as we understood was the smallest room they had. And yes, it was small, but nice and clean equipped with a comfortable bed, flatscreen TV, AC and a fridge. The price was very good considering prices at other motels in the same area for the labour day weekend. There was free breakfast, free wi-fi and they lent us a laptop we could take to our room when needed. The size of the room was of no concern to us as we did not come to San Diego to stay at the motel. The staff was very nice and helpful and also gave good advice of places to eat and drink. Will definitely stay there again if going to San Diego, and can recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay at a good price!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, TOM, Desk Clerk at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Thank you so much Hilde B. for choosing to stay with us and also writing this generous review. Our staff always does our best to accommodate every guest to the best of our ability.
We want all of our guests to feel comfortable and provide much accommodations.
I am so glad to hear that we were helpful to make your stay that much more memorable.
I do hope you visit us again next time you see San Diego!
Please call us early to get the most available rooms and the lowest prices

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
There are newer reviews for Dolphin Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 522 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed here only one night but it was just what I needed. Clean basic place (no thrills) but I'm not into fancy higher priced places. Don't get me wrong, this place is no Ritz, but you get what you paid for!
Breakfast in the morning, free WiFi, small 24hr office in the front
I'm not fancy for luxury, this fits me well
Good for business & coupes on the road
Also my advice do a little research before going somewhere, it will save you the time of asking other people!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you TravelBugWest for trying us out, even for 1 night
We appreciate every customer because you matter to our little family-owned motel
You're description of our motel fits us to a T
You are the best type of customer for us and we hope you come visit us in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We live out of town, so when we pick up relatives at San Diego Airport we stayed at the Dolphin Motel. We choose the Dolphin because of the Trip Advisor reviews. It is just 5 minutes away from the airport and has no jet noise.
When we got there, we found the inexpensive, clean no frills rooms with a comfy bed and had a good nights sleep. The staff was friendly and helpful with planning our outings around San Diego. We could have easily stayed across the street from the Airport at one of the chain motels for more money, but there is a lot of jet noise that close to the airport. The money I saved went to treating my relatives while they were visiting.
While the rooms were small, they were very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful in planning our outings. They provided us maps of the local attractions and advised us at to when the best times to go.
I really like this little family run motel, and Holly and Alan Murdock were most gracious and made sure that everything was perfect for our stay. I will use the Dolphin again, next time my family comes to visit.

Room Tip: We loved the upper floor closest to the marina. Nice cool breeze and a great view. The free WiFi was...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lianew987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

And we hope to see you many more times in the future
San Diego is a wonderful place to visit
There is so much to do!
(that is also why it is so expensive to live here!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff, good sized and clean rooms, comfortable beds, flat screen tv, microwave and AC. very quiet and close to restaurants and pubs. Very good value. Would definitely stay here again. :)

Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you very much Karen
On behalf of all of us here at the motel, we really appreciate you staying here and writing about us for future customers.
I'm so glad you enjoyed our modest breakfast and small but comfortable rooms
Some customers do think its too small (which is also a correct description)
We are an older built motel
I'm also glad to hear your relatives Craig & Liane are doing well
We really appreciate them referring you guys to visiting our motel
Hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I don't understand how this hotel could be so highly ranked on Trip Advisor. The motel itself is clean and the staff are friendly enough, albeit the rooms being quite small and the walls paper thin (fine if you want to listen to your neighbour's Skype conversation at 6am). The place would be super fine if you are after a sports fishing holiday, but if you want to see the real San Diego, the Dolphin is situated in probably the most soulless of locations. In hindsight, I probably would have booked my accommodation closer to the downtown area or across the peninsula at Sunset Cliffs... A little more rough around the edges but a far more interesting and genuine experience. 

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Owner at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Hello Aj G, "Souless of locations"?! In my family's 35 yrs at our motel we have never had a criticism soooo off base! Please, Sea World-Zoo-Balboa Park-Beaches-Petco Park-Gaslamp Quarter-Qualcom Stadium-Convention Center-Old Town- Coronado-La Jolla-Del Mar Racetrack-Shelter Island-MCRD-Midway Aircraft Carrier-Seaport Village-San Diego Airport- ALL 5 MINUTES TO MAX OF 20 MINUTES AWAY-EVEN YOUR SUNSET CLIFFS IS 10 MINUTES AWAY. MEXICO IS 25 MINS AWAY, and the waterfront is across the street. We are located right in the heart of what San Diego is all about! Thank you for the clean room and friendly staff comments. After 35 years, Dad and I are sorry you did not feel it was a "genuine experience".
Sincerely,
Alan Robert Murdock, proud owner with my dad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#28 of 278 in San Diego
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#11 of 278 in San Diego
1,902 reviews
The Pearl Hotel
#42 of 278 in San Diego
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 2912 Garrison St, San Diego, CA 92106-2770
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#7 Family Hotel in San Diego
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: €74 - €159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Rated - Very Reasonably Priced - American Owned and Operated Budget Motel since 1976. Budget very clean rooms with top rated beds, refrigerators and great showers! Best Price! Budget Value! Great location - one block from San Diego Harbor and minutes from the Airport - Seaword - Downtown - Zoo - Beaches and more! Friendly - professional staff ready to help with directions - boarding passes, etc. Every morning say hello to our staff over continental breakfast. - Please see over reviews. Thanks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel San Diego
Dolphin Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing