We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
80
30
9
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
30
9
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm cookies double tree front desk courtesy shuttle torrey pines state beach kingsize bed business park visited this hotel nice gym business district diamond members corner suite worked great breakfast buffet is business trip fitness room mini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Nice staff, nice rooms, no ocean views though. Also worth noting is a very nice pool and spa area. Hot tub opens are 6 am for a pre-workday soak. Lobby is pretty small. My room was spacious although right along the highway.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jasper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Our tropical resort-style pool serves as a great space for our guests to relax in year-round, as we keep the pool heated and our California sunshine never quits! We recently renovated our Lobby and Restaurant to expand their size and reinvent ourselves somewhat with a sleek new aesthetic. We hope that you plan to return to us, next time you adventure out to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Beautiful, clean hotel. Just a short drive to anywhere. The staff were professional, helpful and attentive. Quick to replace a broken coffee maker. Our room was on the 5th floor with a beautiful pool view. Bed was comfy, room was standard size, but well appointed. Only thing-bathroom door is REALLY heavy. Its a pocket door with only a shallow indentation to help slide it. You need to grab the door from both sides and pull. Could be problematic for some.
The cookies (yum!) and free local shuttle were a plus. The jacuzzi was hot on a cold night and the pool large and clean. Still, cant say enough about the exceptional staff. We will absolutely be back!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BunnyTrails03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience thoroughly. On behalf of our staff, we appreciate your compliments. We strive to provide warm, personable service to all our guests, every day of the week. Our resort-style pool area and the our complimentary area shuttle (which runs anywhere within a 6-mile radius) prove time and again to be favored amenities; it pleases us to hear you took full advantage. Happy to hear that you plan to return, and we hope that will happen sooner rather than later. Take care and travel well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

The hotel was updated, had a good breakfast, and every staff member I encountered was pleasant, helpful, and professional. It was a quiet. My only suggestion is that the fitness center be a bit bigger, because at 5am every morning, the fitness center was already packed, and the treadmills and other machines were already being used.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Allise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you for your kind words and the feedback you provided. We appreciate hearing from our guests about what they enjoyed and where we can improve. We finished our renovations in late 2017, and the results have been very well-received by our guests. While we currently do not have plans to expand our Fitness Center, we certainly want to provide a superior experience, and will continue examining that. We hope you will visit again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend and appreciated the easy of the location. The rooms are large and very clean. Great lobby area. Nice lounge. We will return to this hotel when in the area. The parking lot is a little strange as you can only go out one way.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank L3094XLmichaelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

We're pleased to hear you took full advantage of our recently-renovated Lobby and Mosaic Restaurant & Bar. We overhauled these spaces in 2017 to present a refreshed, sleeker version of ourselves to our guests. So far, it's been well-received. Thank you for considering us your destination for your future travels to San Diego, and we hope to see you quite soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Although this hotel is primarily a business hotel, I mixed a little business and pleasure as well as brought my kids. I have to say that the facility was extremely comfortable, and the staff seemed liked family. The Front Office Manager, Jordan, Hovis, was always fun to interact with, and the reception staff was extremely friendly and inefficient. The housekeeping and maintenance staff got to know me and my kids during too brief stay, and said 'hi' whenever they saw us. Overall, a truly enjoyable and relaxing experience. BTW, the food at Mosaic was awesome.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bar2nK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

I sincerely appreciate your compliments, both on my own service and that of our staff in general. We all strive to provide warm, amiable service to all our guests, no matter what our role within the hotel. It is, after all, DoubleTree's promise. We recently updated our menu at Mosaic Restaurant as well, to open up options to those with dietary restrictions and overall raise the quality of our offerings. Personally, I'm very impressed, and we're pleased that you were also. We hope you will continue to chose us when you visit San Diego, so we can continue crafting fond memories together. Take care and travel well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews