We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort! Fun Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Ranked #91 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Resort! Fun Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed here for a weekend. The weather was really nice and it's right on the bay. The staff were really friendly. I asked for extra pillows and toiletries and they delivered it quickly and seemed genuinely happy to help. The room was really nice. We had a waterfront room with a fire pit so it was nice sitting on the patio with a fire and some beer. The resort is really well kept. very clean and modern. The pool was really nice with a lot of bright orange umbrellas and cabanas. Definitely one of the nicest Hiltons I've ever stayed at. Great value.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the bay. It's great for hanging out on the patio and people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    859
    557
    305
    165
See reviews for
1,143
699
80
680
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed here for 3 days last week. Low season for San Diego. Hotel itself is nice but clearly outdated and old. But a parking fee of $32 for a hotel that is not even in downtown? And that is for self park? Are you kidding me? That's the rate you pay in downtown Chicago for valet. And i read older reviews of people complainign about $25 and $28 per day parking fees and the managment response has lawyas been that the parking fee is under review. I guesss they reviewed it and decided to raise it since they wer enot getting enough complaints. They say their parking rate is competetive with hotels in the area. Well, Catamaran Resort that is in the same area and very comparable, if not better than this, only charges $13 for parking, and the rooms are cheaper too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mehran-Mikail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed at the resort for 2 nights as a mini getaway while visiting family in the area. Other than my check in expierience, it was fantastic.
Let me explain, I'm a Hilton Honors member so I always stay at Hilton properties. My flight in was delayed and I knew I would be checking in late so I called the hotel to verify that a king bed room would still be available for me. They assured me it would. When i arrived i was unapologetically told by the front desk clerk "2 beds is all that is available". I explained that I called, Honors memeber, etc. Nothing. I even asked if I could pay for an upgrade. No response. Finally, I was just given a room key and bellman and was told they would take me to my room- didn't know what to expect or what I was getting.
Fortunately, I was upgraded to a 2 bed "villa" at ground level so I was satisfied, but a little customer service and explanation would've gone a long way.
All of the other staff"s service was great.
It's a beautiful property and you can tell it has been updated. Pool area is great, only complaint is that you can only get drink service by the pool during season. This is a resort that is not close to much at all, plan on staying on the grounds or have transportation! I did find it a bit pricey overall, food especially, but that is to be expected at a property like this.
The spa area is fantastic, I highly recommend getting a service there.
Overall, it was everything I wanted it to be!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a couple days at this hotel and left very happy. It started off wonderfully as we were greeted when we pulled up to the hotel by the manager Matt and he walked us into the lobby to be checked in. Check in was quick and easy (aside from the 32 parking charge which many people have already mentioned here). The entire staff was really friendly and helpful with any questions or suggestions we asked from them. William recommended a great restaurant in Bachi's just a short drive away.

The hotel itself is a little older so it isn't as prestine as some of the newer hotels, but I didn't see anything that would make me cautious about returning. No wifi in the rooms was a little disappointing though.

All in all the staff was fantastic and the location was perfect. The only thing keeping it from 5 stars was the parking fee and the upkeep of the property.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PA97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

My son and I traveled to this beautiful area last week and we were looking forward to a terrific experience and we got one. We were so impressed with the amenities and surrounding grounds of this property. When we arrived we were greeted by exceptional staff who were so helpful and friendly! Our room and bath was spacious and very clean, and the beds were so comfortable. The room was quiet and private and we had beautiful views. Eating fantastic meals at this hotel was a pleasure! The hostess remembered our names every morning which created a lovely feeling for us and the waitstaff served us with a warm smile. The front desk and management were always extremely professional and answered all of our questions and were so eager to help us make awesome memories in this wonderful location. We can't wait to return to Hilton San Diego Resort and Spa again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#72 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,628 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#146 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-6801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#22 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Green Hotel in San Diego
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#62 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing