We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great helpers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The staff were extremely friendly as well as helpful. They gav us great local recommendations and advice

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllysonHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agmdowntown, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Awesome! I'm glad we could help you out and really show you some great spots in the city. We love food, beer, music, and art, so be sure to ask us anything. Thanks a whole bunch for the great comments and review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 211 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

My second visit (each in Dec). HI Market Street continues to be an excellent place for me. Close to Gas Lamp activities, waterfront, grocery, bus route. Happy engaging staff...especially like the efficient service with a smile from Beau. Rooms good, healthy breakfast, entertaining TV room, et al. Go for it!

Right around the corner is Bike-Revolution where you can get a bike all day for special hostel rate of only $15 (no tax). I would recommend you bike all the way to Point Cabrillo along the waterfront. Really beautiful and not too bad in terms of work-out.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glarryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agmdowntown, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

Always great to hear from a return customer! We are consistently improving, so we are glad when people come back and see how much better we have become. Thanks for the great review, and the returning business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Hostelling International San Diego Downtown is always reliable when I need to stay downtown. The staff are particularly friendly and helpful. Perfect for when you're partying; not as ideal for early rising.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are much quieter are night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NateDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Thank you very much for your business and then taking the time to review us! It was great having you stay with us and you're welcome back any time you return to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I love this place and stay here every time I pass through San Diego, Staff is great, prices are the best, wonderful location. The age range is rather remarkable (I am 63). If you have to sleep with strangers, this is the place to do it. Sometimes people complain about things like chairs that don't match in the kitchen and the old-but-comfy sofas, and I tell them to go pay hotel prices.

Room Tip: ask for one away from the noise of the bar scene
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norcalitaliana, Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Thank you so much for the review and positive travelling attitude! I hope you have the opportunity to come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

A friend and I recently enjoyed this great hostel. I had not stayed in a hostel for 40 years; it was my friend's first hostel stay. We were greeted by very friendly and competent desk steaff, who signed us in quickly. Our room was great - very spacious and clean - and the hostel location was very central to many San Diego attractions. If other hostels are as great as this one in the Gas Lamp District of San Diego, I be a regular visitor with my new Senior Membership!

Room Tip: Some quiet rooms available away from the busy street action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveston_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agmdowntown, General Manager at Hostelling International San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Wonderful! I am extremely happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and not only that, but you have reinvigorated your passion for hostelling. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments, and your business. Please come back the next time you are in San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#38 of 278 in San Diego
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 278 in San Diego
307 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International San Diego Downtown

Address: 521 Market St, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: €36 - €139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International San Diego Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re here to help you with the most central and accessible hostel in San Diego. Let our award winning staff ensure you receive the most comfortable and enjoyable hostel stay you’ve ever had. We offer a myriad of free tours and activities, and all of our beds are Tempur-Pedic mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostelling International San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing