We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous room for a fabulous price:-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Ranked #64 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous room for a fabulous price:-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I always try to stay at Kimpton hotels when I travel and I have never been disappointed.
My room at the Palomar was located on the 13th floor and it was really fancy. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Happy hour was a lot of fun with a life band. I ate at the bar of the adjacent Saltbox and had excellent shrimp ceviche tacos as well as tasty mussels.
I will definitely stay there again the next time I visit San Diego.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room on the upper floors, away from elevators and vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tohono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Tohono,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our wine hour and dining at Saltbox. We look forward to your next visit to San Diego.

Best regards,
Mark Van Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    358
    150
    53
    36
See reviews for
160
462
54
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Palomar for 4 days with our 3 year old. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We requested a humidifier and it was in our room in less than 5 minutes. Room service was also unbelievably quick. Breakfast at the restaurant was delicious, even if a bit pricey. The location is really good, right at the Gaslamp District, very close to the airport and to Coronado and with easy access to I-5 if you need to go somewhere else in town. Our room was spacious and quiet. Internet access was quick and free for Kimpton rewards members (you can sign up for free on their website). But if I had to pick one best thing about Palomar, I would pick their service. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexMexZilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear TexMexZilian,

I am very happy you enjoyed our service and location. Please come back and see us soon.

Sincerely,
Mark Van Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed here for a bachelorette party. The style of the hotel is contemporary. It's very chic and beautiful. The staff is helpful and sweet. They helped me coordinate a party at the Saltbox and also a Spa day at the Se Spa. Beds are extremely comfortable and staff was very accommodating when I needed extra linens at an inconvenient hour. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a party or just a relaxing getaway. Also, lots of stuff to do nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shweta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Shweta G,

Thanks for the comments on your great stay and bachlorette party. Sé Spa is ready for your next visit!

Best regards,
Mark Van Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

The hotel is easy to find and is the perfect location if you're looking to be in downtown San Diego - right in the heart of the Gas Lamp District. Kimpton Hotels are Pet Friendly and do not charge a fee (which is appreciated)- so we brought Rollie, our Yorkie along for the weekend. Each Team Member was in love with pets so he felt at home.

The valet/parking fee was reasonable & prompt upon arrival and when we needed the car. The nightly wine reception was nice & we partook one evening while waiting for dinner reservations. Our room was spacious and well laid out. Hardwood floors were nice and gave an overall "clean" and germ free feeling. Rainfall shower was nice as were the marble floors.

On the second evening, a server arrived with a kind note with well wishes and in-room amenity from the reservations team for a competition we'd be at. Very unexpected and thoughtful.

We enjoyed Louisiana cooking at the next block over for lunch one evening and a wine bar that was Alice & Wonderland themed another evening. Their restaurant Saltbox looked great, but due to our schedule, we missed it. There was a neat place called The Local that had a great sandwich and burgers 3 blocks up.

Excellent stay & excellent staff!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

when the lobby doubles as a bar and the "heated" but in fact unheated pool area is designed to be a drinking lounge you have need to be concerned. especially as a biz traveller who might need some sleep. the staff were not overly concerned with anything, if we had this experience at a 3 star hotel i'd be as unimpressed as i am with this stupid ipad2. the room overlooked one of the loudest service plant setups ever but the alternate was the pool/bar area. parking is a nightmare so the hotel charges you $36 usd /day to make up for this. its tad too far to walk with kids to anything worth walking to. we were booked for what was intended to be a relaxing week but when the soft beds did in one back and threatened to do in another we shifted after 3. must try harder.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Van_Cooney, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Joydot,

I am sorry you had such a bad stay with us. I would like to discuss your stay at a convenient time for you.

Sincerely,
Mark Van Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#68 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Address: 1047 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Business Hotel in San Diego
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#23 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#62 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego 4.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Move into luxury and sophisticated, art-filled style at Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego. In the center of downtown arts and culture, surrounded by award-winning theaters and nightlife and just steps from San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, our boutique Kimpton Hotel is a top choice for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Se Hotel San Diego
San Diego Se Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing