We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Ranked #122 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Gaslamp Plaza Suites in February for a three night stay and were very impressed. It is exactly as seen on their website. We had a one bedroom suite which was perfect. The room sizes were much bigger than expected. We loved the terrace, the views were fabulous and we managed to sit there each morning for breakfast. The continental breakfast was very good and it was complimentary. The decor throughout the hotel was very good, in keeping with the historic building. The staff on the reception were pleasant except on one ocassion when we asked if it was possible to have some milk for our coffee she said we could go and buy some! Not what we really wanted to hear but in the end she had some delivered to our room. Our room was cleaned and towels changed each day during our
stay. The location was excellent as their are lots of shops, bars and restaurants in the Gaslamp district. This was our first visit to San Diego and we loved it and staying in the Gaslamp Suites was certainly the best choice we made. We would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: We would suggest you look at their website before booking as this helps you make the right choice of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 406 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had such a lovely experience at the Gaslamp Plaza Suites. From the staff to the location and the beautiful room, it could not have been better! We got into town early and prior to check in. Sean at the front desk was so helpful and accommodating. He stored our luggage, provided directions from the airport via the public bus. The hotel was inexpensive, but absolutely luxurious. We have a suite with a separate bedroom. It had two beautiful bathrooms, lovely new carpet, drapes and furniture. What a special hotel in a special town. The room was quiet, there was great natural light, it was spacious, and so centrally located. I really encourage you to try this hotel!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaimielaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in! The hallways were so pretty with marble floors and glass doors, we felt so classy staying there.

Pros:
-in the HEART of the gaslamp! Every night spot we wanted to go to was in walking distance
-bed was super comfortable
-staff were amazingly friendly
-dvd kiosk to rent movies
-beautiful rooftop terrace to enjoy (the free) breakfast
-room key gives lets you cut in line at their lounge, Vin de Syrah

Cons
-sofa bed was somewhat uncomfortable
-valet parking was stinkin 28 bucks a day!
-its prime location means it can be hard to sleep from noisy the party animals down below if your room is facing 5th st ..so just wake up and go party too, problem solved

Room Tip: rooms facing north have less street noise at night valet is $28 a night, try parking elsewhere roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerkfacedeersandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was our first time trying Gaslamp Plaza Suites. We were quite pleased all around. The appearance of the lobby was beautifully done. We encountered many different employees at the front counter, and all were helpful and nice. We opted to self-park our car, which was very convenient in the public parking lot right next to the hotel. For $20, we had 24-hour parking, The hotel did offer valet parking for $28. We chose the smallest room in 504 and were pleased. It is very small, but we had a queen-sized bed. Our window looked out into the "bowels" of the hotel, showing us pipes and inner walls, but this was ok with us. It insulated us from the loud street sounds of the Gaslamp, and it showed us that our room was quite private. We never heard a sound from other rooms, so, for us, the privacy of the room meant more than the view. Rarely do we sleep well the first night in a hotel, with new sounds around. But in this room, we slept pretty well for the first night. We visit San Diego every six months and have stayed in several different hotels. This was our second try in the Gaslamp Quarters, and we have finally found a hotel we will return to with Gaslamp Plaza Suites. Their promotional price for our winter stay was just $83 a night, which was exceptional. They do offer a continental breakfast, which was mostly breads and cereals with coffee and juice. The view from the rooftop, where the continental breakfast is served, is breathtaking. Our only complaint (and it's a small one) was that there was no luggage stand. That would have been helpful. Wi-fi is available in the room for $9.95 a day. Otherwise, it's free if you take your device down to the lobby. We will be revisiting Gaslamp Plaza Suites when we return in August.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanticAuburnites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Very nice hotel in the middle of San Diego's Gaslamp district. Close to light rail. Suite was reasonably priced and very big. Great view from the breakfast area on the roof but a less than mediocre breakfast. Still worth sitting up there and looking out, though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#79 of 279 in San Diego
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Wyndham Harbour Lights
#144 of 279 in San Diego
217 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
The Horton Grand Hotel
#70 of 279 in San Diego
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaslamp Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Address: 520 E St, San Diego, CA 92101-6206
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#80 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: €99 - €189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaslamp Plaza Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gaslamp Plaza Suites is a historical, European style hotel built in 1913. The original architectural aspects are still evident such as original marble on walls and stairways and brass elevator doors. All are preserved meticulously in keeping with our status of being listed in the National Registry of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaslamp Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslamp Plaza Hotel San Diego
Gaslamp Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing