We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic! Delicious!”
Review of Oltre Mare

Oltre Mare
Ranked #596 of 5,560 Restaurants in San Diego
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 October 2018

The owner here is a warm, wonderful woman who cooks from her heart! The food is delicious! Warm crusty bread starts the meal off. Mushroom Risotto was incredible. Wild Boar Bolognese with Pappardelle is a favorite. Just a warning! There are pits in the olives on the pizza (don't break a tooth). The owner said that's the way it's one in Italy because it's more flavorful. BYOB We held a rehearsal dinner here---easy for a vegetarian to eat here, a bit more difficult for a vegan (cheese is prolific) but they did try.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kathy z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We’ve been visiting this restaurant since they opened and always have an amazing meal. This is a family owned and operated restaurant and we’ve watched their two sons grow each year.
They don’t serve alcohol, but welcome you bringing your own bottle of wine. It’s a great date night or family restaurant.
You will love this place. Husband is the chef and wife waits tables. The mussels are incredible!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

We had been in Alta Marea 11 yrs ago to meet the owner of the restaurant (a friend of my mate) and we discover a friendly little piece of Italy in San Diego. Today we can say we can feel the same atmosphere of our first experience. The restaurant is not so big so is better reserve your table. When you arrive, all waiters welcome you with a big smile and manage to give you a sit. We ordered three main dishes and during our wait we had been served with focaccia bread. The cherry upon the cake was the Tiramisu dessert, absolutely amazing (we ordered twice).

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Daniele Vittori... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

We ordered the lobster pasta for two. Before our pasta they brought out focaccia bread that had a nice crust but not chewy. They brought olive oil and vinegar in cruets with the bread.
The lobster pasta was fantastic! The pasta was al dente but not hard, there was plenty of lobster in the shell that was easy to get out of the shell and eat, the sauce was perfect and not overpowering and the tomatoes were fresh. Bring your own wine since they don’t serve alcohol but also they didn’t charge a corkage fee.
We highly recommend this restaurant!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We had a great authentic Italian meal here and love the fact that it feels like such a homey small place next time we are in Pacific beach we will definitely come back.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Petrotravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oltre Mare also viewed

 

Been to Oltre Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing