We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of my trip.”
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chandler Inn
Ranked #69 of 83 Hotels in Boston
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best hotel of my trip.”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Very nice hotel. HD Direct TV, super clean with compy bed. New and modern bathroom, (while a bit small). Other room doors closing were loud, but not enough to keep me awake. I liked the location as it was in walking distance to Amtrak Back Bay, (which has local metro and commuter trains). On the same block is a laundromat, a great coffee place, and Billy's Sub Shop, which turned out to have a very good, cheap, full breakfast. The Delux cafe; a block away, is a dive bar with a fantastic, not to be missed menu.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artyhues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    524
    169
    70
    35
See reviews for
116
483
142
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I stayed here 1 night. The staff was extremely helpful. Check in was easy. It was my first time here so other rooms here might be different.
My room was small with no desk. As I was here on business it would have been nice.
The wireless internet was spotting. The room had a musty smell to it.
It was a good value. If you stay here and drive remember to ask for the coupon for the Cleardon Parking Garage, it will save you almost 50%. Drop your luggage at the hotel and then park in the garage.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvmybasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Great hotel on the edge of the theater district. The rooms are small but stylish and clean. There's no restaurant on site but there's a coffee shop right around the corner for breakfast. There are many nice bars and restaurants to choose from just a short walk away. Boston Common and the Freedom Trail are with walking distance also. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The doors at the entrance of each floor slam so hard that no one in an end room such as where I was located could possible get any sleep. It shakes the room and would wake you up 40 times all night long. When desk was confronted the door was left open most of the night but, when the next morning came SLAM BAM no thank you mame! The room was attractive and was clean but, the TV programing was not operational and the staff did not know how to correct it. For what you get the room was overpriced. Nice location.

Room Tip: The further down the hall the better. NEVER the first room at the beginning of hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiFriend45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed our first night in Boston at the Comfort Inn, but after experiencing dreadful customer service and tired facilities, we looked for an alternative. How I wish we had found the Chandler Inn first! Terrific location, and we were made to feel very welcome by the gentleman on the front desk. It was no trouble to leave our bags in the foyer until our room was available, and we were given a very good recommendation for a local cafe for breakfast. The room was clean and cleverly designed to make good use of a small-ish space (I never felt cramped) and we appreciated the iPhone dock to charge our phones and listen to music. Well done, Chandler Inn!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01Alison_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,596 reviews
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#64 of 83 in Boston
954 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#68 of 83 in Boston
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Property: Chandler Inn
Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116-5221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing