We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value and Prime Location”
Review of Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chandler Inn
Ranked #69 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Seattle
2 reviews
“Excellent Value and Prime Location”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I have stayed at the Chandler Inn numerous times. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Back Bay station. I experienced a pleasant check in experience. The staff was friendly offering a map of the area and greeting me throughout my stay. I wish the restaurant located in the hotel was open for breakfast during the week. The rooms while not large were updated and clean. Mine did not have a closet to hang clothes but I didn't mind. The bathroom had a walk in shower and quality tolietries were provided. I give the hotel 5 stars in every category.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    523
    169
    70
    35
See reviews for
115
483
142
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Location was excellent just minutes away from great restaurants in Tremont St Try Mela for great Indian food and service. Also there is an Ethiopian restaurant (Addis- Red Sea) that is a very different dining experience
Staff were very helpful and friendly and gave us any advice that we asked for
The rooms are a little small but "Funky"!
All in all a fabulous experience at a good price by Boston standards

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better for view and noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 159SRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed at the Chandler Inn on March 6th and March 7th to visit Boston with my boyfriend. The location is great; we were about 30 minutes from the old part of Boston and the area around the hotel is very nice (lots of restaurants and parks). We stayed on the 7th floor and had an amazing view on Boston. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel was quite affordable as well. The rooms were renovated and very clean! Some will say the rooms are on the smaller side, but for the purpose of our trip it was perfect.

Great experience and we absolutely loved the city of Boston. We would recommend this hotel to everyone! :)

Room Tip: We had a corner room and had two nice windows with a view of Boston!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Not too far from the Back Bay Amtrak and Orange Line station. Be sure to exit from the Clarendon St. end of the station, saving you five minutes' walk. The hotel is very basic with no in-house dining facilities. But tea/coffee is complementary and ice is available from a machine at the ground floor. Unfortunately the few restaurants that are within 10 minutes' walk are not very good/inviting. The room is small but OK if you are not staying in that much. You cannot really use this as a base to work. Bathroom is recently refurbished. Cleaning is OK. The hotel was classified as a two-star one at booking.com but probably is worth three stars; but for the standard that it offers it is not a bargain.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strakur74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I stayed at the Chandler Inn in September 2011. Like many other reviews here the rooms are not large but quite enough room for two people who weren't spending a lot of time in their hotel. The front desk staff were super friendly, offering suggestions for local restaurants, directions, parking options. Very clean and in close walking distance to some great restaurants. The sports bar next door was nice, friendly staff and great drinks at good prices. Definitely a place I would stay again (and will in May!)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOLAlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Found Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,593 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#66 of 83 in Boston
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
1,986 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#68 of 83 in Boston
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Inn

Property: Chandler Inn
Address: 26 Chandler Street, Boston, MA 02116-5221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#58 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chandler Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn is a small European style Boutique Hotel located in Boston's hip and historic South End. Featuring 56 renovated Boutique Guest rooms designed to be both chic and comfortable by two of Boston's hottest interior designers. Complimentary wifi is available in every guest room.Located on Charming Chandler Street in Boston's South End, surrounded by beautiful tree lined streets, brick sidewalks and historic Brownstones. Within walking distance of Newbury Street, Tremont Street's Restaurant Row, Copley Square, numerous restaurants, shops, business centers and attractions.The Chandler Inn Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day with friendly, knowledgeable personnel. In addition, The Chandler Inn Hotel offers an online Concierge AP designed by Toursphere,featuring nearby restaurants, self guided walking tours, maps and shopping information to enhance your visit to Boston. The Chandler Inn Hotel makes the ideal home base for your next visit to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing