We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manhattan, vino, ribeye & butter cake ”

Ocean Prime - Boston
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Prime - Boston is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 3,306 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$62
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Description: Ocean Prime Boston is located in the new 100 Pier 4 building in Boston’s bustling Seaport District. With a menu featuring the highest quality steak, seafood, handcrafted cocktails and an award-winning wine list, we are committed to delivering an extraordinary experience to each and every Ocean Prime guest. For us, the answer is ‘yes.’ What is your question?
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Attended on opening night which was a treat.  The service was overly welcoming and made us feel catered to at every moment.  They made a few minor mistakes  (one of our steaks was overcooked, cold lobster bisque, asked for mojito and delivered a margheritta) however it was opening night so those are easy kinks to work out.  They went as far as cooking a new steak and taking the entire thing off the bill!  That's great service!

Sofia was one of the managers and our sommelier.  Her recommendations were spot  on.

The Manhattan was solid.  Made with Woodford reserve and garnished my favorite, luxardo cherries.

Order: lobster bisque.  Not the best in new England but still good.  Mine was cold so that didn't help.

22oz ribeye.  DELICIOUSO.  Cooked medium rare plus. Couldn't have been any more perfect.  Second best ribeye I've ever had at a steakhouse. 

Mac n cheese Gnocchi.  YUP! Just get it.

Butter cake.  Might be top 5 dessert of all time.

Thank LBooGy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2017

Thank you LBooGy3 for your kind review! We are happy you joined us for our opening night at Ocean Prime and we hope to see you return for more delicious butter cake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Stopped in for a couple of drinks and something to eat on a Friday evening. We asked to be outside and were seated right away. There was only a family of four dining outside. After 5 minutes, a second hostess brought us water and said our server would be right with us. Soon the server delivered an appetizer to the other group and left without even acknowledging us. Five minutes later, she came back to the other group and offered to move them inside in case it rained. They accepted. Still she hadn't acknowledged us. After another 5 minutes she came to our table, took a drink order and said it might rain and asked if we wanted to move. Since it wasn't raining, we decided to stay outside. Our mistake, it did rain about 5 minutes later. We walked back inside, but we're unable to find our server so we went to the hostess table. I explained the situation and were told we could sit at the bar. We walked around the bar and couldn't find a seat, table or our server. We had been there over 20 minutes and didn't have our drinks or a place to sit. Frustrated, we walked out. No one even acknowledged us leaving so obviously they didn't value us being there. Too many other great places to eat and drink to waste time and a lot of money here.

1  Thank Bigdog0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2017

Thank you Bigdog0624 for your kind review, we are sorry to read that you did not have a five star experience at Ocean Prime. We have shared this information with our management team, however, if you wish to share any additional feedback, please feel free to contact our Guest Services team at any time at info@cameronmitchell.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

This was some of the best seafood I've enjoyed in many years, and was almost overshadowed by the beautifully maintained dining room, live music, curated wine collection, and unbelievably attentive wait staff. I had friends over from the Netherlands and it was a large group, and to a person everyone was delighted with the experience.

Thank Midwest2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2017

Thank you Midwest2005 for your kind review! We are overjoyed by the exceptional dining experience you received and look forward to your return to Ocean Prime in Boston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

My niece and her new husband arrived into Boston for a visit this past weekend. As we were driving into Boston to pick them up at the airport(don't ever do that between 5-7pm!)I picked Ocean Prime to grab dinner as it was 10 minutes from the airport and provided valet parking for $18. Now my niece and her husband are from Columbus Ohio. It turns out the owner of the restaurant; Cameron Mitchell, made quite the name for himself in Columbus as he owns multiple restaurants there.
As it has only been open for approximately 1.5 years, I strongly recommend reservations for dinner on any day. It is quite the happening place with the young professional Boston crowd and they also have a vibrant bar scene with live entertainment most nights and crafted cocktails.
To make a long story short, from the cocktails, to the appetizers, to the fresh seafood and AMAZING steaks, it was a great way to welcome my family to Boston. Wine list is split between two menus, their regular list and a "Prime" list that averages about $100.00 a bottle no matter what you choose. Service is professional and attentive and fun. A quick note about the steaks, my nephew-in-law and I ordered steaks, he the special of the night 32oz bone in rib eye(biggest steak Ive ever seen) and I, the bone in filet. When our steaks arrived, perfectly cooked I might add, our waiter neglected to provide either of us with steak knives. We assumed they were trying to boast how tender their steaks were so we used our butter knives for most of the meal. Steaks were so tender we sliced thru them like butter, never needed or missed our steak knives! Niece ordered the King Crab Legs that were succulent and tender. Wife had the Ahi Tuna, amazing. Great meal was had by all.
Now the bad news; Ocean Prime is NOT CHEAP. You WILL PAY a premium for this level of service and food. But if you're trying to impress, or want a special night out, please visit Ocean Prime.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2017

Thank you for the kind words. We hope to see you at Ocean Prime again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Great food, service and a fun bar area with a band almost every night. We had the fun berry martini's with dry ice so the cocktail smokes. Great presentation. For my daughter's 24th birthday we all had them so they had 3 servers deliver them so we were all enjoying the bubbles at the same time!! Nice attention to details. The waiter paid attention to us but also allowed us out celebration time together!! Food was amazing! Atmosphere in the dining room is perfect. Cozy booths with light cozy lighting!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2017

Thank you L D! We appreciate the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Prime - Boston also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Prime - Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing