We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
316
73
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
73
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kenmore square garden room north tower charles river fenway park boston university no elevator hard boiled eggs bed and breakfast house is beautiful a small kitchen area place to stay home away from home fresh fruit minute walk red sox game rooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Although this is not your typical Bed and Breakfast, we still loved the furnishings and location. It’s very comfortable and has a nice layout. However, the feel is not one of an “owner owned and operated” place. Breakfast is definitely continental, with absolutely nothing homemade. Kinda disappointed on that. Oh well.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Shauna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Shauna,
Thanks for your review! I’m sorry you were disappointed with our continental breakfast, but I have done my best to let guests know that we do not have a cooking license and by law are unable to serve anything other than prepared foods. It’s on the website as well as the confirmation letter that we send out, but we still find that many guests are surprised that we are indeed considered a “bed and breakfast” by the city of Boston.
We do our best to try to have choices that appeal to most folks, within our restrictions, and even supply vegan and gluten free choices on request.
I’m very happy that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay and I do hope you’ll visit us again soon!
Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

We returned to The Gryphon House for another stay as part of our New England tour. Our last visit was back in 2006 and we were looking forward to our return visit - this time with friends rather than family. We were also a little apprehensive - had anything changed - was it still as good?

Well, I am happy to report that it was even better than our memory recalled. Every aspect of our stay was superb. The young lady who checked us in was truly dedicated to giving first class customer service. A special treat was being upgraded - and an extra special surprise was to find it was to the same room we stayed in all those years ago!

Sadly we were not able to meet up with Teresa but we had many excellent chats with Tara who is a joy - full of knowledge and a great sense of humour! This guest house truly understands what makes a stay special and they are an exemplar that others would do well to follow. We had a wonderful stay in Boston (the car was parked up at The Gryphon and we either walked or used the nearby T for 3 days) and our memories are even richer thanks to everybody at The Gryphon House. Here's to the next time and hoping it will not be so long!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RomanRemains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Oh, so sorry to have missed you! But so happy to hear that my staff more than made up for my absence! Thank you for all the kind words. Nothing makes us happier than to hear that a return guest was even more pleased the second time around!
Please do come back again before too long— we’ll try for triple goodness then!
Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Wow! The Gryphon House exceeded all of our expectations! Teresa and her staff took excellent, personalized care of us and the room was spacious, super clean, and well-appointed! The location of this guest house is within walking distance to Boston University, Fenway Park, and the Back Bay. Stay here for a truly charming and local experience of Boston!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Thank you, Audrey! We really enjoyed meeting you guys—hope your son is a hit at Halloween!
Thanks so much for your wonderful review!
Please do come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We arrived late because of a delayed flight and were sorry to have missed those five extra hours in this lovely B&B. The accommodations were tops and the staff couldn't have been nicer or more informative. We would love to return someday to this gem!

Room Tip: There is no elevator so we took a room just one flight up.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamescG4211EZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Well, thank you so much! We’re sorry your trip was cut short, too! We look forward to having you with us again for a much longer and more relaxed visit!
Thanks again for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

The area rest nestled into Boston University area with abundance of restaurants, shopping, and of course historic Fenway. There was a lot offered in this region and depending on your tolerance of walking essentially everything was within a good hike. We walked to Boston Commons rather quickly, however, my wife and I are active individuals. The B&B itself was quite pleasant with very welcoming staff and atmosphere. There is a common area to grab the continental breakfast which was chiefly pastry and whole fruits but nonetheless it was enough to hold us over until lunch. A bonus to this B&B that I had not experienced in other locations around the country was that they left snacks out all day (usually carried over muffins, granola, and fruit from the breakfast) but it was handy to take with us on our exploration of the city. The rooms are very nice, quiet, and absolutely well equipped with everything you need. The absolute best part of this location for us was the fact that they had a large stash of umbrellas for guests to openly use. This happened to be fantastic for us as it rained a few days and we in fact did not have umbrellas. Thanks a million for that little perk! I would happily stay here again in the future. Thanks from Texas!

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adventure464459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa781, Owner at Gryphon House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Thank you so much for your great review—we really appreciate it!
Please come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews