We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Boston
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We had the opportunity to spend a night here following my office holiday party. Because we had the party at the hotel, we were able to get a discounted room. The room was beautiful, with a nice view of the Rose Kennedy Greenway. Everything about the place was fantastic, from the staff/service, to the rooms and the food that we were able to enjoy - both at the party and our breakfast at Miel. We enjoyed the buffet and were pleasantly surprised at the price tag. It was certainly more than we would normally spend for breakfast, but less than I was expecting at such a beautiful and classy place in downtown Boston. I hope that we hold future office parties here and that we'll again have the opportunity to spend a night or two.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelleigh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
We appreciate you sharing your experience at our hotel! We love to hear from guests who have a fantastic stay at our property and we are ecstatic your office party was unforgettable. Our 32,000 square feet flexible meeting space has floor-to-ceiling windows with the capacity to accommodate groups of 10 - 1,200 people and our attentive staff strives to make each client event a uniquely exceptional experience. At InterContinental Boston, our staff works hard to ensure that your first visit is never your last, and we hope to see you and your company back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,868
    890
    205
    75
    66
See reviews for
951
1,380
194
1,140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (881)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed here for one night in January with my mother. We had a superb time. Every employee was extremely cordial and helpful. We booked the cheapest 2-bed room. The room was big and the beds & linens extremely comfortable. The windows were huge but overlooked an alley-way (fine since we didn't care about a view) The bathroom was wonderful - both a bathtub and a glass-enclosed shower (with a very handy shelf) It was extremely quiet both during the day and the night (in fact, even though it was a Saturday night, it seemed almost empty - very peaceful!)

The gym had a lovely view and a cool locker room with electronic lockers and a steam room. The pool was also great and deserted whenever we went there. Plenty big for swimming laps.

The restaurant served a delicious dinner and breakfast. The pastries with the continental breakfast were delectable and the unlimited fresh-squeezed orange juice was great.

There is also a nice bar that sort of spills into the lobby - lots of comfy chairs and couches and a little fireplace; good and interesting cocktails, not ludicrously overpriced.

The location is superclose to South Station and 5 min from Boston Common. I LOVED this hotel! The price (ours included breakfast) was great for a January weekend - worth a splurge if you normally stay at cheaper places.

Room Tip: If you don't care about the view, the cheapest rooms are totally fine!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepoling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Service and location are two aspects we take pride in and it is great to hear that you enjoyed both of these. We’re glad you had a chance to experience our spa and health club as it is often overlooked. Our hidden gem is equipped with state-of-the art weight and cardio training equipment, a 45-foot indoor heated lap pool, steam rooms, locker rooms, six dedicated spa treatment rooms, and an extensive collection of healing spa services, including massage therapy, body treatments and facial care. As you mentioned, our prime location is one of the main reasons visitors choose to stay with us. We are within walking distance to famous Boston attractions such as Faneuil Hall and the North End. Not only are we close to the subway, but during the warmer months the water taxi is a fantastic way of transportation to and from the airport that many guests do not know about. With a dock right behind our hotel it is convenient and a great way to tour the Boston waterfront during your ride. It is wonderful to hear from guests who truly enjoyed their stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your review and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Great location for quick travel from NYC or Boston, short walk from North Station so Acela train gets you almost to the front door.

Very elegant, clean, calm modern-style hotel. Very nice rooms, higher rooms have great view. Spacious bathrooms with both tub and shower. Lounge/restaurant has nice laid back but classy vibe, and good food. Room service food was good as well.

Front desk was courteous and efficient.

Slightly strange location for business center, in the gift shop, would have liked a bit more privacy as I worked with some non-public documents, but that's a small complaint.

My only other negative would be that it was a freezing cold day, and my room was a bit chilly and seemed to have a hard time warming up, but it eventually did once I turned up the thermostat. I was on the ninth floor, and it was very windy, and I had a corner room with gorgeous floor to ceiling windows on two sides, so I think that had an impact. Loved the windows, so hard to complain!

No surprises, worked perfectly for a business trip.

Room Tip: Incredible views from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
We appreciate you sharing your experience at our property. We always love to hear from a guest who has had an exceptional experience and will be sure to share your comments and praise with our staff. It is great that you were pleased with the size of your room and bathroom in addition to our waterfront location. As you experienced, we do offer one of the most generous sized standard hotel rooms in Boston at approximately 430 sq. ft. From location to service, the InterContinental Boston team understands the importance of both. Our staff works very hard to make each guest’s experience memorable and to exceed their expectations. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabibit
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed for one night - despite our last minute decision, when we called, the reservation agent was very efficient to make our same-day reservation. The check-in was smooth, staff very courteous and helpful. The guestroom was comfortable. I felt that insulation was not sufficient - we could hear street noise as well as the hallway noise (other doors opening and closing/people talking). Breakfast at Miel was very pleasant.
One thing about valet parking - we could unload our luggage at the hotel entrance. Upon check-out, we were instructed to go down one floor to pick up our car. I do not think you call that "valet service" - we had so many luggage pieces, and the car was not ready though we called at least 30 minutes earlier. The parking is run by a separate entity, so that has something to do with it. Overall stay was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for your posting your review. We always love hearing from guests who truly enjoy their stay and we will be sure to pass on your praise to our reservations team. Our staff works hard to exceed guest expectation with attention to detail and maintaining our hotel guestrooms and facilities. As you mentioned our parking garage is owned by a outside company, however we appreciate your comments and will share them with our staff to make the necessary improvements to create a smoother departure for our guests in the future. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This hotel is located a short walk to the waterfront, Fanueil Hall and the North End. Due to the convenient location we love to stay here even for a quick night away. The hotel is gorgeous inside and out, it really is a luxury hotel. The rooms are bigger than your average room, but not quite a suite. The staff have always been very helpful and professional. The room rates here vary wildly ($150-650/night), so we always try to find a good deal. It is a great place to get away for a night and have dinner in the North End and maybe catch a Bruins or Celtics game. Will continue to return to this property, never disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenskeeper19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICBoston, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Boston, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you for posting your review. We’re glad that you had a exceptional visit to our hotel and that you were pleased with the size of your room and bathroom in addition to our waterfront location. As you experienced, we do offer one of the most generous sized standard hotel rooms in Boston at approximately 430 sq. ft.! Service and location are two aspects we take pride in and it is great you enjoyed both of these. Several sites unique to Boston, such as Faneuil Hall and the New England Aquarium, are just short walking distances away. Next time you visit be sure to stop by our concierge desk for all the in the know tips on Boston’s attractions. We are honored by your continuous patronage and appreciate you sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,865 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,701 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#19 of 83 in Boston
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,302 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Boston

Property: InterContinental Boston
Address: 510 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#7 Business Hotel in Boston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#7 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breathtaking, modern Boston waterfront hotel stands on the site where a late-night tea party ignited the American Revolution. Located between the financial district and the booming Fort Point Channel, find yourself at the heart of the city and take in waterfront views from Miel, Boston's first Provence-themed brasserie. An urban retreat, relax and revive with an indoor lap pool and full-service spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing