We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$388
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$366
Taj Hotels
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$474
US$414
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$372
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$562
US$461
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$455
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$805
US$644
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (4,678)
Filter reviews
4,678 results
Traveller rating
3,669
748
169
64
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,669
748
169
64
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseastern standardfenway parkisland creek oyster barkenmore squarefenway roomboston universityfront deskred sox gamejunior suitehouse of bluesroom servicegreen linefavorite hotelwonderful hotelsitting areathe entire staffroom was spacious
Filter
Updating list...
4,512 - 4,517 of 4,678 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2005

An overall great experience. Very friendly staff; the doorman that met us when we pulled up greeted us by name every time we came in & out. The room was lovely and very comfortable. The L'Occitane bath amenities were wonderful. The location was very convenient. We could walk to Fenway Park or go downstairs to the Kenmore T station. Downtown was only a 5 minute train ride away. They also have a huge selection of free DVDs to view in your room. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LI_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
223
Reviewed 17 August 2005

I chose the hotel based on the raving reviews, but I must say, it did not live up to my standards. Unless in town soley for a game at Fenway, the location is mediocre at best. In the dumpy side of Boston University, the choices of restaurants and nightlife are limited to the Fenway park choices which are all touristy, overpriced and lose their novelty after the first couple of days.

Service and rooms at the hotel were fine... nothing bad but nothing memorable.

Next time I visit Boston I will stay somewhere else.

Stayed: July 2005
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2005

Great weekend getaway to the Commonwealth. Fantastic bed, linens, pillows -- could have slept until check out. I swear there were 2 kinds of toilet paper as well -- quilted and "regular". Never seen that before. A bit annoyed by the $34 a night for parking, but would happily stay again and again. Will hope to try the hotel's bars / restaurants next time!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelinMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2005

Stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth last weekend as a mini-getaway. I did tons of research on hotels, and I have to say we were thrilled with my final choice. Our room was big, with a separate sitting area with 2 very comfortable leather chairs, and a second TV. The bed was extremely comfortable with Frette linens. And the bathroom was large and so nicely decorated, with great L'Occitane products! We walked everywhere from the hotel....all the way to Long Wharf and back, but we are from NYC and used to walking. The T is right outside the front entrance of the hotel if you do not want to walk as much. Back Bay is about a 10-15 minute walk, and Fenway is right around the corner!
In all, we had a great weekend, and loved this hotel! We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank efb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2005

We recently returned from a mid-week night at this fantastic hotel. Our room was superb: extremely spacious, separate sitting area with additional tv, very comfortable king sized bed; overlooked Commonwealth Avenue. Ammenities such as robes, slippers, and turn down service made us feel very pampered. The staff was also very gracious and helpful.

Definitely consider the Commonwealth if you are attending a game at Fenway -- just a very short walk away. We were also able to walk a short distance (about 15 minutes) to the Back Bay area for dinner.

The Kenmore T stop is just outside the front door of the hotel and provided easy access to Boston Commons, the Freedom Trail and other sites of interest.

For the price, this hotel can't be beat. I've been telling all my friends -- go to the Commonwealth!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MomTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews