We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2005

This is quite a good hotel. Its well situated beside Kenmore T station. The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff quite courteous.

There is some good restaurants in the vacinity. Some good pubs also. Its close to Fenway Park also, which is well worth visiting when in Boston.

Commonwealth Avenue is quite nice also, well worth a stroll along. Newbury Street is also running behind Commonwealth and well worth walking along. It has good but expensive shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank I_Mallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,403 - 4,407 of 4,565 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2005

An overall great experience. Very friendly staff; the doorman that met us when we pulled up greeted us by name every time we came in & out. The room was lovely and very comfortable. The L'Occitane bath amenities were wonderful. The location was very convenient. We could walk to Fenway Park or go downstairs to the Kenmore T station. Downtown was only a 5 minute train ride away. They also have a huge selection of free DVDs to view in your room. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LI_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
223
Reviewed 17 August 2005

I chose the hotel based on the raving reviews, but I must say, it did not live up to my standards. Unless in town soley for a game at Fenway, the location is mediocre at best. In the dumpy side of Boston University, the choices of restaurants and nightlife are limited to the Fenway park choices which are all touristy, overpriced and lose their novelty after the first couple of days.

Service and rooms at the hotel were fine... nothing bad but nothing memorable.

Next time I visit Boston I will stay somewhere else.

Stayed: July 2005
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2005

Great weekend getaway to the Commonwealth. Fantastic bed, linens, pillows -- could have slept until check out. I swear there were 2 kinds of toilet paper as well -- quilted and "regular". Never seen that before. A bit annoyed by the $34 a night for parking, but would happily stay again and again. Will hope to try the hotel's bars / restaurants next time!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelinMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2005

Stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth last weekend as a mini-getaway. I did tons of research on hotels, and I have to say we were thrilled with my final choice. Our room was big, with a separate sitting area with 2 very comfortable leather chairs, and a second TV. The bed was extremely comfortable with Frette linens. And the bathroom was large and so nicely decorated, with great L'Occitane products! We walked everywhere from the hotel....all the way to Long Wharf and back, but we are from NYC and used to walking. The T is right outside the front entrance of the hotel if you do not want to walk as much. Back Bay is about a 10-15 minute walk, and Fenway is right around the corner!
In all, we had a great weekend, and loved this hotel! We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank efb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 85 in Boston
3,450 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#11 of 85 in Boston
1,377 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#9 of 85 in Boston
2,460 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 85 in Boston
4,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: €137 - €458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing