We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,724)
Filter reviews
4,724 results
Traveller rating
3,699
759
172
64
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,699
759
172
64
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseastern standardfenway parkisland creek oyster barkenmore squarefenway roomboston universityfront deskred sox gamejunior suitehouse of bluesroom servicegreen linefavorite hotelbeautiful hotelsitting arearoom was spaciousthe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
3,006 - 3,011 of 4,724 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The hotel occupies the upper stories of a commercial strip. It is affiliated with Eastern Standard at one end of the property, The excellent Island Creek Oysters is at the entrance but not affiliated. Rooms are large with a substantial lounging work area separated from the bed area by a curtain. This is the start of one of many things that take the hotel from being a top boutique hotel to one marred by dysfunctional details.

-To get from the work/lounge area of the room to the front door or bathroom one passes through the bed area thus potentially disturbing anyone who is sleeping.

-The fridge in the room is packed with goods for sale and a warning that moving them to put your own stuff in the fridge will result in charges to your room bill. So the hotel doesn’t trust its guests to report what they take from the minibar.

-Hot water for showers is a serious problem in the morning. The only way to have hot water is to let the shower run for many minutes, a terrible waste of energy.

-The rooms are not well noise insulated. The first night we called the front desk to complain about loud music at 11:45pm. We were promised that security would look into it. No change in volume. We called back 30 minutes later and were told security would again deal with it. Minimal if any change. For the next two nights of our stay the volume may have been a bit lower but we could still hear it clearly enough to know what songs were being played.

-The browsers on the computers in the little space for printing boarding passes are so out of date that they don’t work with the airline website we needed to access.

-The staff was very friendly and welcoming and tried at every turn to be helpful. But the procedures don’t seem to be in place to handle things smoothly. On the first night we requested to extra blankets. They were not provided until the next day when I went to the front desk and waited for them. The staff seemed unclear about the reservations possibilities and policies of Island Creek Oyster, which is just inside the front door of the hotel.

There are other minor glitches. None of these things (except perhaps the music noise) is a substantial issue. But for an expensive boutique hotel whose niche is clearly service, things should run more smoothly and with more attention to detail.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elm4154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear elm4154,

I apologize that you experienced so many opportunited during your recent stay with us. Please contact me directly as I would love to talk further on correcting these issues. I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
Smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Reservation at ICOB went well with amazing food. Then walked back to a Valentines' Day with surprise of a portrait of myself and date!! Best hotel in Boston easily. Excellent!!!

Reservation at ICOB went well with amazing food. Then walked back to a Valentines' Day with surprise of a portrait of myself and date!! Best hotel in Boston easily. Excellent!!!


  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Botz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Botz81,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us over Valentine’s Day weekend and the surprise we left in your room. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Everyone at the Commonwealth was so kind and accommodating. From the moment we arrived the staff was so helpful. One staff member Nicholas was so helpful with directions as well as being exceptionally kind. The rooms and bathrooms throughout the hotel were immaculate and beautiful. To top it off the restaurants were delicious. I will definitely return to the Commonwealth.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhughes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Rhughes24,

I am happy you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel. Nicholas is a very talented concierge and we are extremely fortunate to have him here. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I would not stay at any other hotel in Boston whether for business or pleasure. The Hotel Commonwealth nails it every time from doormen to housekeeping. I'm usually a business traveler who is very picky, yet a pleasure traveler who is easily impressed. The HC delivers. And the Eastern Standard connection is always a blessing!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDH430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear NDH430,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write another review, we really appreciate it. I am thrilled you enjoyed the level of service we provide here at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

From the time they open the door until you check out, the staff was wonderful. The room, amenities, and the comfortable bed made my business trip a dream. Perfect for business, a couples retreat or a family resting spot.... Will come back again!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank SenicGorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOManagerHC, Manager at Hotel Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear SenicGorge,

Thank you very much for providing us with feedback. I am happy you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We can’t wait to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Shane McWeeny
Rooms Division Manager
smcweeny@hotelcommonwealth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews