We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can we take the bed home with us?”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This place deserves the great reviews.

It's incredibly comfortable all round. The best sleep I've had in a hotel for a long time. Great amenities. Free wifi. A very good coffee maker on request. Good toiletries and lots of them.

A good, very well maintained gym.

We didn't eat a full meal but cocktails and nibbles in the bar were great. And their craft beer selection shows someone is as interested in this as the wine list.

Genuinely helpful and friendly, well trained staff.

Everything done very well. We had a huge room overlooking Fenway Park. Couldn't fault a thing. Well done the Commonwealth!

Room Tip: Fenway view - quiet and it's a view of Fenway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidbummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,361 - 3,365 of 4,541 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by extremely friendly and accommodating doormen and it continued once we registered with the front desk. We called the hotel before arriving and explained we were there for our son's graduation and would need a room early due to certain activities and they were more than happy to accommodate us upon our arrival. The staff was extremely courteous and made you feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

A big hotel with the friendly feel of a small hotel. Very helpful and pleasant staff who give attention to detail. Bedding is the most comfortable of the four other hotels we tried in Boston over the years. Island Creek Oyster Bar and Eastern Standard Restaurants were adjacent to the property and both were excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The Hotel Commonwealth is the most comfortable hotel near Kenmore Square. While the view from all of the rooms isn't necessarily fantastic, you can't beat the location for access to Boston University, the Back Bay and the Museum of Fine Arts. It is also right on the T, so we were able to get all around town. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the beds were great, and it was very quiet at night. Champagne on arrival doesn't hurt, and the staff were outstanding when my daughter had to go back to the room post-check out to retrieve her ipod.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back (off Commonwealth Ave) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mlc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We could not have been more pelase with this hotel. Great location, fabulous rooms, but most important to us with the helpful, courteous wonderful staff, from the doormen to the bell staff to the front desk and housekeeping -- everyone went out of their way to help us to have a wonderful long weekend.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor at the front of the hotel right on Kenmore Square and we were not at dal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#12 of 84 in Boston
1,365 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#11 of 84 in Boston
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,970 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: €155 - €435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing