We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
5
2
4
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
2
4
5
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend and really liked this place. The room was big and nicely arranged. The staff were courteous and helpful. The location was great... right on Newbury Street with all the nice shops, bars and restaurants. We were able to walk almost everywhere we went, which was a nice bonus. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveller3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Don't be fooled by the name, not Suites and NOT Royal!!!! This is a lovely old building which has been cheaply and dangerously renovated. Our door would not close, there was a curtain instead of a bathroom door. No hanging space for dresses, cheap blinds didn't close, water in the sink wouldn't drain. There were tiny black insects flying around, one light bulb kept 'popping' and shorting out, electric sockets hanging off the walls, although newly renovated (!) it was grubby. Bathroom not clean and only two small frayed towels. Staff (when we saw anybody) were the rudest most ignorant we have ever come across (except for the boy who showed us our room, he was quite apologetic). We couldn't wait to leave, the only thing it has going for it is the position, Newbury Road is very trendy, with lovely restaurants, designer shops and close to Copely Square.

Room Tip: Do NOT book this hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AussieGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

i booked my room three months before arrivinf in july this year
they took my money in june by credit card and 2 days before my arrival in Boston they said my credit card didn't work (they didn't need it because they had already taken the money)
they cancelled my room the day i arrived because they overbooked at a higher price than mine without warning
to be without a room in middle of july in Boston wasn't so easy
these guys are to be avoided; they don't care about customers they just want money
Unbelievable behavior

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duffon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The location of this hotel was amazing and the decor was pretty and modern. However, that's all that was good about the hotel. It was rather overpriced for a hotel room that had a leaky AC above the entry door and closet. The walls were thin so you could literally hear every conversation going on. The hotel is above an Indian/Thai fusion restaurant so the distinct smell is permanent in the room. It's fine for a night's stay in the city, but other than that, not really worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STH001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I have to say that we really hesitated booking a room in this hotel because there were no reviews in TripAdvisor!! It's a new hotel under the Royalton Suites name but if you do a search under the address 254 Newbury Street, Boston, MA 02116, you'll see that it used to exist as a B&B, presumably under different ownership. Well, we went ahead and booked it and we were not disappointed! We wanted a Queen room only but they only had a King room for the first night so we booked the King for night #1 and a Queen for another 3 nights. They called us back the same day to say that there were upgrading us to a King room for the 4 nights at the rate of the Queen room - how nice is that! Upon arrival, our room had been given to another client who'd arrived a day early but within half an hour, our room had been vacated and cleaned, ready for us. The only down side was parking - there is none for this hotel. You need to use public parking lots. There is one only a 5 minute walk away and it's $30 per day - note that you don't have in\out privileges. As soon as you take out your car, the clock starts over. But, this hotel is SO well located that you don't need the car at all. We walked everywhere. There are tons of restaurants, shops, and wonderful desert places right at your doorstep (check out Max Brenner Chocolate at 745 Boylston Street - A MUST!!! http://www.maxbrenner.com/menus.html). We were even in walking distance of the Freedom Trail, the Warf, the USS Constitution, the various parks, Cheers bar, etc. We did take the subway to visit Harvard and took the car out one day to go to Cape Cod and the Prime Outlets on the way back. Back to the hotel... it's very clean and nicely decorated in modern furniture and colors. Our room was huge and had hardwood floors (cleaner feel than carpet!) There were 2 nice white love seats - not sure what that will look like in a couple years but it was lovely when we were there. We had a view on Newbury street which was great. The air conditioning wasn't extremely strong but it was perfectly fine, not worth complaining about to the staff in our opinion. The shades in the windows are quite thin so the room gets bright quite early - good to get you going on your day. Plenty of hot water and good pressure - nice new shower. It's a very small place so you don't have all the amenities of a big hotel - that's not important to us so we were fine. All staff were extremely polite and helpful and with a little more experience will become wonderful (the place is new and some of the staff are are a little "green" but very nice and friendly)! Would definitely stay there again!!!

Room Tip: Ask for view on Newbury street.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyBear7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews