We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A very worthwhile and interesting tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walking Boston - Tours

Walking Boston - Tours
Ranked #20 of 132 Tours in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walking Boston offers a fun, private, educational tour of historic Boston. Very entertaining & informative guide. Walking Boston is Boston’s only historic tour given by a children’s book author and Boston historian with family ties to the Sons of Liberty and Paul Revere. Imagine yourself touring Boston with an actual relative of the legendary Paul Revere! Ben Edwards is a creative and engaging tour guide who offers private tours at a comfortable pace. His private guided walking tours for groups and families provide a personalized approach ensuring plenty of time for questions and the flexibility to stay longer at many of the sites.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very worthwhile and interesting tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Ben told us with enthusiasm the history of the american independence, which began in Boston. Showing us very old photos, original maps and newspapers of that time and audio and film recordings,he helped us to imagine those historical events. In this way hystory was more interesting, it relates more to the monuments and everything he pulled out of his backpack was a surprise for us. We appreciated a lot the tour and his guide and we can say it is worthwhile. Talking about the historical events he told us some stories about his ancestors who lived in Boston, that you can read in a book Ben gave us. Last but not least it was quite simple to understand Ben's english also for us who are.....italian tourists traveling in the USA.

Helpful?
2 Thank Legnanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great guide that brings history alive for all ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

I have been taking my fifth grade students and their families to explore the history of Boston through the eyes of the one and only, Ben Edwards, for four years. His professionalism, charisma, and dedication to his historical craft are like no other. Ben’s passion for learning and adventure is contagious. He lights the path of the Freedom Trail through artifacts, story-telling, and interactive games! For years to come, my students will reflect on their journey through colonial independence with Mr. Ben Edwards!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An enjoyable and informative afternoon with Ben”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

My husband and I spent an enjoyable and informative afternoon walking the Freedom Trail and hearing about the history of Boston. Ben was a wonderful guide and I would highly recommend him.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank horns1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brookfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fifth Graders LOVE historic Boston with Ben!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

The students in our fifth grade classrooms always enjoy touring historic Boston with Ben/ Ben's quick pace keeps the students interested and they are actively engaged looking for clues and artifacts throughout the day. There is never a dull moment! He has built in so many "special" and unexpected twists that the students and staff are kept on their feet and engaged the entire day. As a teacher who loves Boston, I look forward to our trip with Ben each year!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank melochem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Proud to be a Bostonian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Destination: Boston! A place that should be on the MUST SEE list of every American and of every person that has an interest in history and in remarkable cultural venues. If you are lucky enough to be able to travel to Boston, the only tour that brings this city justice is Ben Edwards’ tour. Why Ben Edwards tour? Because Ben is the only tour guide that will present the city and its history with a passion and a pride like you’ve never seen before. Ben’s presence is electrifying from the first moment he begins the tour. He has a story, and an interesting one for that matter, at each step of the tour- it is hard not to stay engaged in his presence. Thank God for the red brick trail otherwise you would think you are really back in time, walking on the streets during the Revolutionary War. Well prepared with numerous relics of the times he presents, Ben will walk you back to the time of his ancestors with so much passion that you will see and hear the tumult of the city in those years. What is the most amazing thing about Ben’s tour is the ease with which he adapts to everyone’s knowledge. Ben makes the tour fun while not missing a beat from the remarkable moments in the city’s history. Two things you will remember about Boston, the city’s beauty and this unique history lesson thru the eyes of a very proud relative of the some of the most remarkable American families. Highly recommend the tour!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Argentina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walking Boston - Tours also viewed

 

Been to Walking Boston - Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing