We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sea-food / great lobster roll”

James Hook & Company
Ranked #15 of 3,556 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Located on the waterfront in downtown Boston, James Hook & Co is the go-to place for delicious, high-quality lobster and seafood. We are a third generation family business, and have been selling lobster since 1925. James Hook & Co has earned a reputation for the finest lobster in town, even earning the Best Lobster award from Boston Magazine.
Reviewed 19 August 2017

This was my introduction to the famous Boston Lobster roll.....was taken here by friends who live nearby....

The service is brisk and functional

Some tables inside...mainly outside though.....thisis not a fine dining restaurant with table service....much more of a cafe / diner style....rustic

But the food is the main event....yes the lobster rolls are around $18 ....but they are packed with the sweetest/ tastiest lobster meat I've probably ever had.....and as someone who is never really blown away and finally understand the hype about lobster!

Would love to come back here

Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 August 2017

We're happy to hear you had a great time here, Mike. Our lobster rolls are famous for a reason and we're happy you enjoyed your first roll ever! Hope to see you again the next time you're in the area.

Take care,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 209 of 1,547 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017

My family and I were in Boston recently, and we had heard that James Hook and Co. was the place to try the fresh lobster roll. At least that was what the hop on hop off tour guide told us. So we had to come here and try it!

No disappointment. it is a food shack in the parking lot of a main road near the harbour. Some picnic tables outside, and a few small tables inside. You can buy take away by the lb. or order to eat there. Two sizes to choose from regular or large, we just tried the regular size.

Lobster was delicious, and satisfied the craving. Had some mayonnaise mixture, but just enough to not drown out the lobster flavour. There are many places in Boston to try a lobster roll, and we didn't compare, but I would recommend this as a safe bet, if you dont mind the surroundings.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Golfwunder_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 August 2017

We're happy to hear you were so impressed during your visit to Boston! It's always a great time to have new faces stop by. Hope to see you again the next time you're in town!

Take care,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

This was our first stop in Boston once we arrived at our hotel which was only steps away. We love a lobster roll and obviously had to have one first thing. We weren't blow away. I mean, it's a lobster roll so it wasn't awful. But the lobster was a bit chewy, and seemed to just be lobster in mayo. Nothing special. No seasoning and the roll wasn't anything special either. I wouldn't say it was bad... because, well... it was a lobster roll. But we definitely found much tastier ones throughout our visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lize8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 August 2017

We're disappointed to hear you weren't impressed here. But we're proud of our award-winning lobster rolls here! We hope you'll give us another chance to show you why our rolls are the best in Boston.

Take care,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

The place is small and the parking is a bit tight but the food is absolutely amazing!!! The lobster rolls are delicious and the stuffed clams were great. It is very pricey but very worth it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glitter_In_My_Soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 August 2017

We're happy to hear you made it our way for some of our great food. The lobster rolls are famous for a reason, so we're glad to hear you loved them!

Take care,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

This is THE place to have a lobster roll! The lobster bisque is also the best I've ever had! Only drawback was no beer or wine but excellent otherwise!

Thank tina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 August 2017

This is THE best review we've seen in a while, Tina! Thanks for leaving this feedback. Hope to see you back our way soon!

Take care,
The Hooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed James Hook & Company also viewed

 

Been to James Hook & Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing