We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just.... meh” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston
Ranked #32 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Just.... meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights recently and it left literally no impression on us. The rooms are fine, the location is pretty good, but overall, there was nothing worth coming back for.

The decor in the common areas hasn't been updated (even though it seems that the individual rooms have been). And the front desk service was fine, but nobody went out of the way to make the experience anything but an average stay at a generic city hotel.

The room service food is pretty bland and the selection isn't great, but again, not awful, just not amazing either. Overall if you need a place to stay in Boston that's inoffensive, not super cheap, but not badly located... this is in your sweet spot... Anything else, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbsolutelyNoBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles F, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Boston! We are very sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We strive on providing exceptional customer service to each and every guest. I apologize that you didnt feel that our staff went above & beyond to make you feel welcome with us; if you could please contact me directly at qualitybosto@hyatt.com.
As for the for common areas; we are currently in process of completing 3 renovation phases that include our lobby areas, meeting rooms & Avenue One. On your next return trip to Boston, I am sure you will love the new look of the hotel.
On behalf of the hotel management, we appreciate your overall comments regarding the service received and the quality of the food. We are currently reviewing your comments as a management team to improve the overall guest experience at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,450
    1,208
    502
    182
    75
See reviews for
825
982
170
893
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

When we got to the hotel, we were thoroughly disappointed to find the pool was out of service. The rudely clerk responded it was posted on the Hyatt website; I then told her I had booked through Expedia, and she said it was posted on their site also. It was not. The clerk then said we could swim at another hotel--a car ride away! We went to the other hotel to swim, only to find the pool heater there broken.

I had asked if there would be any compensation at the Hyatt, like free breakfast, but they said no, that the ability to swim at the other hotel was the compensation.

The bathroom was also in great need of repair. The walls are paper thin; we heard every sound from the very active couple next door. If you use the refrigerator, you must pay a $25 cleaning charge.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles F, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
We appreciate you sharing these details about your recent experience at the Hyatt Regency Boston. I do apologize for your interaction with the Front Desk Agent in regards to the pool. This is not how we treat our guests and I will review this with my Front Office team. Our pool is undergoing a renovation and we made arrangements for guests to use the pool at a nearby property. We did post this on our website so that guests are aware prior to arrival. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at qualitybosto@hyatt.com. We look forward to welcoming you soon with an updated indoor pool for you to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

This post is long overdue. I travel to Boston frequently for work, and the Hyatt Regency in Boston is always my hotel preference. The Hyatt is a beautiful hotel that offers great value and incredible service. Every time I come back to the hotel, the staff remembers my name. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet is fantastic. Great gym, great pool. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for travel or leisure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JST429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique T, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Boston. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Over the past 8 months I have stayed at the Hyatt on Avenue De Lafayette an average of 5 nights per week. When I arrive at the hotel I am always greeted with warm friendly smiles and wonderful customer service. The staff's service allows me to free myself from worrying about my room, my food, my dry cleaning or when I am going to exercise and allows me to concentrate on the reason I am in Boston in the first place: work.

While I have never stayed at the hotel for pleasure, I constantly see tourists both American and Foreign wandering out of the hotel and into the heart of downtown Boston. The one time I did use the concierge for directions (to what other than Fenway Park) they not only took the time to detail the different options to get there (take the T or jump in a Cab) but also recommended a wonderful restaurant in the Fenway district for after the game.

While I don't frequent Boston quite as much as I used to I will always stay at this property; the staff earned my business.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skintol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique T, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for the five star review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

5 star hotel friendlly staff....in the center of downtown

Room Tip: ask for top floor and water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeevc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique T, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you for writing a review about Hyatt Regency Boston. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Boston
Address: 1 Avenue de Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool and stay energized in the StayFit Gym. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing