We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning View!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Ranked #53 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
West Tisbury, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning View!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

A corner room, the 20th floor, wrap-around windows, a corner office at last! The view at night was so stunning that I slept with the curtains open all night just so that I could wake up, lift my head from the pillow and view the lights of the city spread out below me.
The room was immaculate, and well arranged with the desk in front of the huge windows. No tub but a large walk-in shower with dual heads. Walk to Prudential Center shopping, the Convention Center, Boston Public Library, Newbury Street shopping. Nice little Thai/Vietnamese restaurant, Pho Basil, a five minute walk.
The only downers - no free wi-fi, expensive parking. (Hint: park across the street in a small, pay parking lot and save $12.)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidandlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the appearance of your guest suite, particularly the views – the Downtown Boston skyline is truly magical at night! I understand that parking and internet charges were somewhat of a concern and while we do charge for these amenities we try to ensure that our rates are competitive and in line with the rest of the marketplace. I hope that next time you are in the Boston area you will come back and visit us.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    1,121
    466
    158
    65
See reviews for
711
735
164
843
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I had asked for a high floor, but the best I could achieve was 9. From here I could here the noise of the trains, not sure if it was overground or the underground, but it was regular. It wasn't loud, not so bad as too disturb sleep but it was there. For some reason it seemed noisier in the bathroom. If you placed your hand on the window sill you could actually feel the vibration. My wife couldn't as it was very faint, so it wasn't a problem, just interesting. The beds were not as comfotable as most Hiltons we have stayed in. They were getting quite dated. There was a single dressing-gown in the wardrobe. How odd.
The same happened here as it did in Montrea - See that review - when I asked to borrow two plates I was sent to ask in the restaurant. Not very impressed.
We stayed here for the location. Most hotels in Boston seem very expensive compared with other US cities and towns, and the quality is lacking as well. In fact accommodation is so expensive, we had a week in Cape Cod and just 3 days in Boston. Not our original plan.

Room Tip: Ask for a very high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawchessplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique M, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. We always appreciate hearing from our Guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I understand that the noise was an issue during your stay and while we do not usually have many complaints about the train noise we regret that it was disruptive to you during your stay with us. If your travels bring you back to the area again we would appreciate an opportunity to be your hotel of choice again. Please contact me directly when your travel arrangements are made and I will ensure that we accommodate you in a room that is away from any noise and disturbances.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I will have to agree w/climax they do seem to have the best prices for the hotel hilton back bay ,,I did alot of home work and they did come up with the best price...........lucky for me

Room Tip: Geat Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
64 Thank bos2nm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for your review. We try to stay competitive our surpass our competition in terms of price, service and amenities. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you back upon your next trip to Boston.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, Surrey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Have just returned from a long weekend in Boston at this hotel to celebrate my husband's birthday.

The hotel is in a perfect location to see all the sights of this wonderful city. We bought a 3 day pass with the Super Tours trolley bus company for 38 dollars. This was excellent value especially as there is a bus stop just across the street from the Hilton. This also included a Duck Splash in Boston harbour - great fun! We also walked to several places - there is a great bar called "Sevens" at Beacon Hill - and loads of nail parlours - so much cheaper than England!

We stayed on the 6th floor - ok so there was no view but we were not there for that. The beds were comfortable and the room clean with tea and coffe making facilities. We swam in the pool every morning before breakfast and then went in the hot tub - perfect way to start the day. The gym looked good too and the changing rooms were well equipped. We checked our e mails every day on the pcs in the lobby and never had a problem with this as there were 5 computers for the use of guests.The staff were polite and friendly.

All in all a wonderful break - we will definitely be back some time in the future!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank MinxiMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that our that you had a wonderful weekend celebrating your husband's birthday. I am delighted that you found the amenities and location of our property to your liking. Hope to see you return soon! Safe travels

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Staff: This Hilton definitely has one of the nicest staff I have enountered. They will go out of their way to make you happy. This includes the restaurant staff.

Restaurant: Amazing food. Yes, pricey breakfast buffet with not alot ot choose from, but worked for me.

Clean: the hallways and elevator neede cleaning. The room was clean, but not great. I am extremely picky.. so take that for what it is worth. It was not horrible, and I would stay at this hotel again.

Beds: Not the best. They are okay, but could use with the current Hilton upgrade other hotels are getting.

Transportation: Call for a taxi first or your will have to walk to the Sheraton across a busy street to catch taxis.

All said.. a very convenient hotel. Wonderful restaurant, starbucks service, staff... better then most of the other hotels in Boston.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank na n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonBackBay, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and I will let our team know that they helped you have a great stay with us. All of us at Hilton are passionate about hospitality, so I apologize the cleanliness in the hallways and guest room were not up to your standards. The upkeep of our property is something we take great pride in so I will address this matter with our housekeeping team. Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Boston.

Warm Regards,
Dominique Marty, General Manager
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
2,155 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 83 in Boston
3,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#62 of 83 in Boston
3,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Back Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Back Bay

Property: Hilton Boston Back Bay
Address: 40 Dalton St, Boston, MA 02115-3155
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#45 Family Hotel in Boston
#45 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#47 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Back Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Boston Back Bay is an up-scale hotel in downtown Boston, across the street from the Hynes Convention Center in the neighborhood of Back Bay. This Boston hotel's downtown location is within walking distance to Fenway Park, world-class shopping and dining on Newbury Street and four miles from Boston Logan International Airport. This Boston hotel features 390 guest rooms, and indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center and over 15,000 sq.ft. of flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hilton Boston Back Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Back Bay Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Boston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing