We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for a budget traveller”
Review of 40 Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
40 Berkeley
Ranked #13 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Boston
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Very basic rooms and communal bathrooms, but the place works, mostly because it's well run and kept very clean. It feels very safe, and the big lobby area has lots of people of all ages sitting around using the wi-fi and the complimentary coffee and tea.
This is definitely one for budget travellers. The rooms have very few facilities apart from wi-fi and air-conditioning. But they are clean and the bathroom areas always seemed to be completely spotless. some of the furnishings could do with updating - the carpeting in the corridors was pretty shabby.
Staff went out of their way to be helpful.
There's no restaurant or cafe, but Billy's cafe across the road has good prices and excellent food - I had a big stack of delicious blueberry pancakes and syrup.
It has good access to the airport, and is within walking distance from South Station.
Altogether a really good choice if you're on a budget. You need to book.

Room Tip: Ask if they have one in a part of the hotel that is being refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 38sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Baths have been renovated (at least we know about the ones on the 6th floor) and the rooms on the 2nd floor as well. Very beautiful, almost chic, still simple, but absolutely fair. Location is great and the view from the 6th floor is amazing!! All been clean. We would absolutely and definitely go there as well. S.th. between a hostel and a hotel. We had a room for 2.

The staff is very kind!

Photos are from the new room only.

Cheers

Ps we spent 3 nights there.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CarstenvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Pros: Good location -we're laid back and loved the nearby "Delux" Bar
Clean Bathrooms (Everytime I went in it was freshly cleaned) TIP:Check all the bathrooms on your floor, some were brand new and lovely, some older, glad we looked)
Nice front desk staff and they held our bags for free the day we checked out
Free Coffee
Good Wifi

Cons: Smelly (mix of lemon and vanilla cleaning products)
Outdated furniture & really small mirror in room
A/C was broken in our room and construction was loud outside
Only one working elevator of two (slow)

Overall: A good deal for the price. We found downtown Boston a big to affluent for our blood, so next time we might try and stay further from downtown. Don't stay here if you have a strong sensitivity to odours.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kaitlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a week and had a great stay. The rooms have air-conditioning and they are refurbishing all the rooms. I stayed on the 2nd floor in a double non-refurbished room with a shared bathroom. Really good size, comfy bed, clean and the bathroom was just refurbished and spotless. I always woke early so never waited. Had a great stay. Will definitely return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a simple room with a double bed, wardrobe and table. The shared bathroom was just up the hallway with several toilet & shower units in a lockable cubicle. The room and bathroom were clean, there is a laundry room, filtered water dispenser and free wifi. The man at the desk gave us a map and suggestions for breakfast. For just over $100 in Boston we thought it was fab.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lisa4864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Charlestown
Constitution Inn
Constitution Inn
#82 of 86 in Boston
787 reviews
Downtown
HI Boston
HI Boston
#1 of 30 in Boston
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Berkeley

Address: 40 Berkeley St, Boston, MA 02116-6316
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Boston
Price Range: €24 - €122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 40 Berkeley 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's historic South End within easy walking distance of Copley Square, Back Bay and downtown Boston, 40 Berkeley offers an unbeatable value for budget-minded travelers. Our 168 private guest rooms are an appealing alternative to Boston's high-priced hotel rooms. All have either a shared or private bathroom and many have spectacular views of Boston's skyline. The hotel's elegant main lobby and public spaces recall the building's storied history as the country's first YWCA. In addition to its dramatic interiors, the hotel has a lovely private patio garden where guests gather in the warmer months for socializing and impromptu events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 40 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Berkeley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing