We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place great price great staff”
Review of 40 Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
40 Berkeley
Ranked #12 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Boston
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place great price great staff”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I was on travel to US and had a conference in Boston. In the beginning I was planning to book a room at the conference venue but decided not to because the price is unreasonable if I book a single room for myself. Then I found 40 Berkeley and booked a single room. I was surprised that the hostel looks pretty neat from outside.
I went early and waited in the really convenient lobby and went around the living room and common room.They let me putting my luggage on their storage. They have plenty of space as well on the mezzanine floor and some desktops, scanner, and printer placed there.
The check in was easy. They gave me a single room nearby the shared bathroom, which is really nice. They clean the room when I ask, they appreciate guest's privacy so we can choose to have our room cleaned or not.
Breakfast is served for 2 hours with generous portion and choices of foods and drinks. Some of the people there are permanent residents and nice to talk to. Towels are provided and may be replaced upon request.
The most interesting part is they have social events for residents which I happened to join one of them, the magical performance. The show was really entertaining and they also offer free foods and drinks. Free starbucks coffee is also provided from 10am to 5pm, as well as free popcorn throughout the day. There is a movie room and laundry room availabe for guests. Free Boston passes are offered if you book through their website.
I would definitely stay in this hostel again on my next visit to Boston.

Room Tip: Just book the single or double rooms, the triple and quads one are not big enough for 3 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsmondPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    436
    327
    157
    124
See reviews for
119
366
224
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The staff was very accommodating and welcoming for our large group. It is a very economical option for groups to stay in a wonderful part of the city.

Prior to our arrival, the staff worked with us budget-wise etc.

We were warmly greeted with cookies and a group welcome.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Unfortunately there were some heating problems on our floor, so our room was very cold and the hallway close to freezing. The (full) bed was kinda small too, but the helpful staff made our stay none the less a very pleasant one. The breakfast is very standard American (eggs, bacon, pancakes) which probably works for most people, but for a bunch of stubborn vegetarians the healthy choices were limited... Compliments on the fresh fruit salad though! There is a nice and spacious hang out area downstairs with free wi-fi, coffee and popcorn. YWCA located in the same building with eccentric, but friendly residents.

Room Tip: Double bed is very small for 2 (120-140 cm)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManonSiggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londrina, Parana, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2012

All right...they do rent apartments to elderly people. Not that this can be a problem (actually, you can engage a really nice conversation with some of those), but some people just don't like. With this said, the staff did a good and fast job, and we could leave the luggage there before check-in. The room is clean, but the heater can not be regulated, and this means it gets REALLY hot in the middle of the night. The bath is clean and cool, but the sanitary was not cleaned very often. But in average, the place is cool for price you pay, even though some weird people was there, and the breakfast is AWESOME. If you get a private room, you should fine (I didn't check the shared room though). Anyways, just don't think if your decision is only for about a couple of bucks. The location is nice, with food places and grocery nearby. Just go ahead and book it.

Room Tip: Definetely get a private room (don't know if the weird people live at the shared rooms or not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vitor E Camila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Berkeley, Director of Events and Media at 40 Berkeley, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Hi Vitor! Thanks so much for posting your feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and just wanted to take a moment to clarify a couple of your concerns. In terms of our accommodations, we currently only offer private rooms. All of our residents reside in private rooms as well, so there's no need to worry about sharing a room with anyone other than your travel buddies!

While our facilities are cleaned multiple times a day, you never really know who is going to walk in there next! Our front desk is super responsive though, and we're always happy to send someone up to maintenance the bathroom at any time of the day.

Thanks again for posting your feedback and enjoying all that 40 Berkeley has to offer (especially our GIANT breakfast)! We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Bria S.
Director of Events and Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daegu, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2012

It was good to stay in this conveniently-located residence. The downtown area is in easy walking distance, as is the theatre area and the MoFA. The "T" could be closer. I didn't get a confirmation of my online booking by email. Was this a hiccup or policy?

Breakfast was varied, ample and nutritious. The staff were very helpful and there were lots of amenities (TV room, Washing machines, pay computers, library, pool tables). Cheap or free events that people might want to visit were also posted each day. This was very helpful.

I was in a single room, since I was supervising a group of students from abroad who were doing research into student newspapers in Boston. The rooms were clean and functional for us all.

The checkin and checkout was quick and pleasant.

Showers and toilet areas were cleaned every day, though my room wasn't cleaned during my 6-day stay. Perhaps this is policy - leaving everything to us while we're there. At least you know that no-one is entering while you're out.

There are some ladies there who actually reside in the residence. They might seem a bit out of place amongst all the young visitors, but they seem to be OK with this.

Highly recommended for a clean, reasonably-priced, functional stay.

Room Tip: Talk to the people on the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Berkeley, Director of Events and Media at 40 Berkeley, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Hi Alwaysnow!

I'm so glad your group had the opportunity to stay with us and explore Boston! Thanks for taking the time to post about it on TripAdvisor.

I wanted to take a moment to clarify a couple points you made in your review. If you made the booking directly with our front desk staff, they always send a confirmation letter, though sometimes it can end up in your spam folder depending on the email provider you use. If you used a third party booking engine, the confirmation letter would have come directly from them.

In terms of in-room housekeeping, our front desk explain to each guest upon checkin that this service is available free of charge, but only upon request. This information is also presented in the welcome booklet that you receive when you arrive. We want to make sure you feel as safe and secure as possible during your stay, which is why we will not permit anyone to enter your room without your prior consent or request.

Thank you again for choosing 40 Berkeley and for telling everyone how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Bria Schecker
Director of Events and Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
273 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#70 of 83 in Boston
1,128 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#64 of 83 in Boston
3,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#59 of 83 in Boston
2,081 reviews
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 83 in Boston
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Berkeley

Property: 40 Berkeley
Address: 40 Berkeley St, Boston, MA 02116-6316
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — 40 Berkeley 2*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's historic South End within easy walking distance of Copley Square, Back Bay and downtown Boston, 40 Berkeley offers an unbeatable value for budget-minded travelers. Our 168 private guest rooms are an appealing alternative to Boston's high-priced hotel rooms. All have either a shared or private bathroom and many have spectacular views of Boston's skyline. The hotel's elegant main lobby and public spaces recall the building's storied history as the country's first YWCA. In addition to its dramatic interiors, the hotel has a lovely private patio garden where guests gather in the warmer months for socializing and impromptu events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 40 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Berkeley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing