We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Mountain Getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property
summer sunrise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
summer sunrise
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
summer sunrise
cabin entrance, lower left
lower left, cabin entrance
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Porch
Bathroom
Porch
Porch
The Master Bedroom
Parking deck
Deck
The Master Bedroom
Grounds
Deck
The Master Bedroom
Deck
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Asheville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert g
1 review
“Great Mountain Getaway!”
Reviewed 27 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The Stanley Cabin was great! Perfectly located off 40 between Asheville, Chimney Rock, and the blue ridge parkway. Your literally in a cabin overlooking a beautiful view. The owner George was a wonderful host. Very knowledgeable about the area. We are already booked to go back in the fall. My wife and I along with our two dogs Lexie and Maggie would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wade B
Starr
2 reviews
“Very comfortable and well kept.”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The location is great. It is on a mountain top overlooking a valley. It is convenient to town. It is a nice drive to Mt. Mitchel and Chimney Rock. Most attractions were free or reasonably priced. George was very nice .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah F
Lanoka Harbor, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay!”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

100% would recommend staying at George's place. This was exactly what my husband and I were looking for when wanting to stay in the North Carolina mountains. We went for the eclipse and though not in the path of totality we had a clear view of the eclipse without the crowds. The cabin is cozy but roomy enough for a couple and our 2 dogs. The porch can be closed to allow the dogs to roam without them leaving the deck and the view itself it full east, perfect to watch the sunrise over the Blue Ridge mountains. Everything was wonderfully clean. A few cobweb in a corner or 2 but so does my house after a few days, i mean, its the mountains. Wifi was good, we streamed Game of thrones with no buffering but really thats about the only thing we watched. Just enough in the kitchen to make meals and George had all we needed: paper towels, TP, towels, hand soap. There was shampoo and body soap but we brought our own. George offered to wash our towels but we didnt need him to, he provided enough and we hung them up to dry at night like we would at home to reuse. We saw George every day but didn't feel like he was intrusive. He was great with providing tidbits on destinations and directions. We could hear him a little above us at night, but it wasn't loud or bothersome. The shower has hot water a plenty but just know if you are on the larger size (tall or wide) the shower may be tight for you. Guests have their own parking spot on premises, the drive up may be daunting for someone not used to mountain roads, but we mastered it really quickly, but take care as it is one lane most of the way. I can't recommend George's Place enough and should we ever go back to the area, George will have our business.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren e
2 reviews
“Rustic Cabin”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We were very pleased with out stay at the Rustic Cabin, Appalachian Elegance. Driving to the property, my boyfriend was excited by the private single lane winding drive to the cabin apartment. Within the first hour we saw a family of bears meandering the property, a momma bear and her two cubs. The next day we saw turkeys, which frequented the property during our stay. The cabin itself was quaint. Plenty of room for my boyfriend, myself, and our 80lb dog. George was an excellent host, and shared his knowledge of the mountain and wildlife with us. Not only did the cabin apartment have all of the comforts of home, it was a 20 minute drive (or less) into downtown Asheville, West Asheville, and the River Arts District. It took us around 40 minutes to drive to Pisgah National Forest.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L C
1 review
“The Getaway”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the cabin and enjoyed the cooler weather and the scenic views. We also saw a mother bear and two cubs and a wild turkey on the property. George was a wonderful host and plan on another trip in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing