We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
582
64
25
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
582
64
25
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bob and barbara green room celebration suite powell suite wilkinson room private breakfast other guests beautiful victorian historic district bed and breakfast third floor owners and staff b bs front porch breakfast was delicious lovely home each morning
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 682 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We stayed at the Wright Inn in early October and it was a fantastic choice ! The owners and their son took great care of us ! The breakfasts were phenomenal ( if you go be sure to ask about purchasing their cookbook - each dish was worthy to serve at a holiday meal !) The ambience was perfect - if you love Victorian style homes this is the choice for you It sits in a lovely neighborhood and we were able to walk to the main downtown area - definitely recommend and we will stay there again when we return to the area !

Room tip: We had the room on the first floor - it had a private breakfast nook and we had room service for our breakfast! We loved that !
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arlenehack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Beautiful Victorian mansion in Asheville’s historic district – it’s a stop on the Visitor Center trolley because of its historic significance! Within walking distance or Uber to all of downtown Asheville. Cozy rooms, some with in-room bathrooms and some with a bathroom a short hop across the hall (ours was, no problem), interesting historic furnishings and the best breakfasts with an elegant service I’ve ever had at a B&B. Innkeepers (especially Tom) were friendly, helpful, and fun to talk to. Interesting guests.

Room tip: Third floor is quiet, one room with king-size bed but private bathroom is across the hall (not a problem for us).
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alicedorschner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I was part of a rather large group that took over the property. Staff and accommodations were wonderful. The friendly and helpful innkeepers were delightful to work with allowing us to host our business meetings in their parlors, on the porches and in the dining room. The breakfasts were tremendously enjoyable and the atmosphere was calming and quaint.

Room tip: Third floor is accessed by steep stairs but has lovely rooms, a common area and separate heating/air control.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

My wife and I recently enjoyed a two night stay at the 1899 Wright Inn. This turn of the century house takes you back to another time. The house is situated in a beautiful neighborhood among other period homes. We were greeted by Tom who showed us to the Wilkinson room, a corner bedroom on the second floor. The room had a king bed and fireplace and was large enough for the two of us and our luggage. The central air conditioning kept the room cool. The bathroom is quite small, but workable, and the shower had good hot water and pressure. Both the room and the bathroom were very clean.
Breakfast is served at the formal dining table, with extra tables set up if the house is full. Each meal was delicious and freshly prepared in house, hearty enough to get you off to a good start. The staff was very friendly. Someone is always available to help you if you need it. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Asheville.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jab31151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We stayed at the 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House in September 2016.
It's a Victorian mansion and while it's beautiful to look at, it also made us realize we aren't really the kind of people who should be staying in Victorian mansions. Or at least not in those that are a bit tired inside.
The interior is also Victorian, of course, with a hodgepodge of various antique-looking furniture, lots of oriental-style flowery rugs, and plastic ferns and garlands adorning fireplaces.
Our room, the Hampton, was spacious, in the attic (up one staircase, down a hallway, and then up a winding, small old servants stair case), and had a very roomy private bathroom (not all rooms have private bathrooms). The queen bed was a bit creaky, but comfortable enough. Mini mint patty as a welcome gesture on the dresser. The bathroom could do with updating. While it is spacious, the tub needs either new caulking or a good scrub to get rid of the black moldy patches on the caulking. The shower faucets might need to be tightened. The shower head was a smaller one (not a more modern bigger one) and water pressure was a bit hit or miss while we were there. One of us didn't really care for seeing a well-used toilet brush sitting next to the toilet; maybe the Inn should consider keeping cleaning materials out of sight.
Breakfast was at 9 a.m. and consisted, while we were there, of cut fruit (one day it seemed to have tinned mandarin rather than fresh), followed by a main dish (either a sweet or savory dish). Juice, coffee and tea. Some of the breakfast chairs seemed to have lost their springy-ness so we used a cushion to prevent ourselves from sinking too low.
The Inn does not provide any afternoon refreshments. It does however have a refrigerator downstairs with some canned sodas for guest use (for a $1 per item suggested donation, that the Inn would then match and use towards charitable giving). Parking is free and behind the Inn, on the premises.
We liked its location which is within walking distance (i.e. within a mile or two) from downtown, and from a couple of restaurants closer by (Chiesa is a decent Italian restaurant to check out if you don't feel like going downtown). The neighborhood is very leafy, peaceful and quiet, filled with Victorian mansions interspersed with some Craftsman houses). The visitor center is also within walking distance, which is handy in case of purchasing Biltmore tickets or tickets to the Hop On Hop Off bus.
Wifi at the Inn was a bit slow and spotty.
We realize many people love this Inn and love staying in old, Victorian mansions. For us, staying at this Inn made us realize that we like the more updated, modern look of urban inns or boutique hotels, or those Victorians that have been thoroughly updated inside (they do exist).

Room tip: Hampton room (attic), accessed via servants stairs (not good for those with mobility issues). Room spacious, private bathroom.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dez_and_AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews