We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pink Lady rules Montford!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We can't say enough about the beauty, charm, and history of this lovely B&B. Even with Jim & Linda on vacation, Kiki & Heather ran the place with grace and the perfect levels of availability and unobtrusiveness. With its literary historical appeal and authentic Queen Anne/Georgian pebble-dash architecture, The Lion & The Rose is a perfect home base for exploring Asheville. We stayed in the Craig-Toms Suite, enjoying the shower room, jacuzzi tub, and balcony especially. Recommended Asheville experiences include the Asheville Historic Trolley Tour, Thomas Wolfe memorial, Highland Hospital area, Grove Park Inn and surroundings, Blue Ridge Parkway, etc. We hit a lot of eateries; Mayfel's and French Broad Street Chocolate Lounge were standouts. Helpful hint: The Wall Street Parking Garage is cheap and convenient to all things downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tada1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
There are newer reviews for The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 540 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Lion & the Rose. The house is beautiful, and near downtown. Our room was sparking clean, and very quiet (even though the B&B was full). We could not hear the other people on the same floor or above us. The owners are kind, friendly, and happy to help, but also are unobtrusive. If you are looking for a small B&B that will still give you privacy, this is a great place to stay. The amenities at the hotel are well thought out and very considerate. There is a computer and printer available, well stocked food and drink pantry, a library of DVD's you can watch in your room, extra toiletries (if you forgot something), port and sherry to sip on, and plenty of books of all kinds to choose from. Our room even had a soft throw blanket to curl up in. There are little bowls of chocolates everywhere. The bathrobes and towels are absolutely luxurious. Breakfast was great. The air conditioner in the room was a little loud--- but it is a window air conditioner, so we had control of it. Can't say enough good things about our stay. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlygirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Easy drive to Biltmore and downtown as well as Grove Park Inn. Host and Hostess are extremely helpful in guiding you to where you want to go as well as making suggestions on how to prioritize your points of visit. Breakfast was wonderful, room and bed very comfortable, grounds very attractive. A great running location for the traveling runner.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Atlanta91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Beautiful B&B... we were late, but we called and our hosts left out a key and a nice welcoming letter. They have a stocked pantry, complete with water & sodas & snacks & tea & coffee - whenever you'd like! Such a small thing, but makes such a big difference.

I'll remember the wonderful breakfast conversation - not to mention the wonderful breakfast!

They sell tickets to the Biltmore, 2 days for $50 - that's a 2-day ticket for less than the 1 day admission at the gate! Definitely ask them about that.

Also - we went biking on the grounds of the Biltmore, also highly recommend that activity. Some of the most beautiful scenery, and all levels of biking trails.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonder_woman4056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My wife and I celebrated our 10th anniversary with a 2 night weekend stay. Jim and Linda were very hospitable and we really enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts. The Lion and the Rose is very quiet and the rooms elegant and very private. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the elegant home and the spacious downstairs, porch and outdoor areas as well. I'd recommend this B&B to anyone planning a trip to Asheville.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce73060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
258 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 276 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: €155 - €213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored Queen Anne, just three blocks from downtown Asheville, North Carolina and minutes from the Biltmore Estate. Each of the five guest rooms is uniquely furnished with antiques and period appointments. All rooms include a queen bed, private bath, full gourmet breakfast, TV/DVD player, luxury soaps & linens, custom robes, wireless internet service and a 24 hour guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lion and The Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing