We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find downtown, but worth it”

The Market Place Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Market Place Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 856 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Battery Park
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Asheville, The Market Place Restaurant specializes in handcrafted cuisine from seasonal, local ingredients, many of which come from within a 100 mile radius of Asheville. Bringing you the local harvest since 1979. Serving Dinner from 5:30pm, 7 days a week in our newly renovated restaurant. Brunch from 10:30am - 2:30pm on Saturdays & Sundays. Our classic American lounge serves local brews and handmade cocktails.
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Great place for excellent, friendly service, ambience and oh yes, well prepared and presented food. My wife had the salmon with a cup of pumpkin soup to start and I had the mussels as a starter and the agnolotti for the main dish. The sauce for the mussels was incredibly delicious, the best I've had in Asheville. Wines by the glass were also excellent. When you call the restaurant for a reservation, ask them how to get there by GPS (even if you are walking). They will tell you an easy way to get there. We'll be back for sure!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 30POP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2018

By far one of the most consistent restaurants in Asheville. The food is always excellent and the staff is friendly and inviting.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We had 5pm reservations and arrived around 4:50 to make sure we were not late — we stood out in the cold 24 degree weather with the door locked until 5pm. I knocked on the door and explained we had two children and two elderly parents with us. We asked just to stand inside the door, and not bother anyone— until 5– where it was warm. The gentleman at the bar first ignored my knocks on the door and finally came over after i tried several times to ask his help. He then refused us in, closed the door locked it again without checking for us, and left us there with nowhere to go. If this is to be the case when standing and waiting with elderly parents, then open up the place at 5pm, let people stand by the door and wait in the warm if they are 5-10 minutes early (so as not to be late and hold up the reservation). And then reservations should not start until 5:15 or 5:30 if the door won’t even open (literally) until 5pm. Don’t make people wait while you lick the door up to the minute of their reservation.

Regardless if the food is good or not, this was an unacceptable way to treat patrons with elderly parents who were freezing. The prices suggest a better level of service than being asked to stand outside in the cold (or be late for a reservation if you want to be welcomed inside, I suppose?)

So, while we wait on the cold, I have time to write a review and let others know...this place will literally leave you out in the cold. Don’t be early!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Bham4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

While cruising Tripadvisor for a spot to have dinner, we discovered that our top choices were booked for the time that we wanted to dine. The Market Place was available and our hotel confirmed that it was a great place and a good opportunity for us to visit the downtown area on foot. We walked and got there a little early so we had a drink at the bar. The bartender was great and the special cocktails she cooked up were fantastic.
The appetizer of tuna tartare was spot on and my wife and I shared two mains: pork shoulder and agnolotti. Both were fine but I like the pork better. To finish, there was a good list of cordials and whiskeys and they had a nice Amaro (Montenegro) a rare treat in fine dining establishments.

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank Trevi_Sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We went on a Thursday evening and it wasn’t packed . The service and food were excellent.. loved the pumpkin soup, beef on a weck, the ocean scallops, and the stuffed pasta.. each was a delight... liked the atmosphere and the man playing the piano and trumpet at the same time... fun. Would love to go back anytime.

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank 92donnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Market Place Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Market Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing