We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Days in Asheville -- Two Breakfasts at Over Easy”
Review of Over Easy Cafe

Over Easy Cafe
Ranked #32 of 810 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Downtown Asheville
Description: At Over Easy Café, we take pride in creating fresh to order breakfast, and brunch dishes until 2 o'clock everyday. Focusing on supporting our local farmers, we have a variety of dishes that will satisfy any breakfast desires... Organic Meats and Dairy, Gluten-free, Vegetarian, Vegan and Dairy-free. We pride ourselves in sourcing ingredients as locally as possible.
Reviewed 2 September 2017

The first day, we just "stumbled" upon this neighborhood favorite and lucked out because we got there just after the line had stopped forming (yes...you may have to wait in line during popular times). Great menu with lots of choices from "light fare" to breakfasts that will last you all day. The coffee is exceptional. It can get a little rushed...but the food is worth it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gkoitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson L, Manager at Over Easy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review, we use Mountain Air for our coffee ( a local brand) that we just love. Sorry to hear it felt a little rushed that is good feedback for us. Hope to have you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017

The plus side - we didn't have to wait long to be seated, our server was friendly and attentive, along with typical breakfast foods, they offer a few unusual breakfast dishes. The negative side - the food was good (not great), the seats were hard and uncomfortable, a bit too pricey.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pez-oz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson L, Owner at Over Easy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear your food wasn't as great as it should be. I hope you will come back again some time and try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We had breakfast at Over Easy on Saturday and the food was delicious. We had about a 30 minute wait at 9:30am, they took my mobile number and we walked around the nearby farmer's market while we waited for a text. The portions are generous and the service was good despite how busy they were. A good breakfast choice while in town.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LPS789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson L, Manager at Over Easy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Glad to know that your visit was worth the wait, hope to see you again on your next visit. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We went to a few breakfast places while we were in Asheville last week and Over Easy was disappointment. We got in line one morning before they opened. We were the second group in at 8am to be seated. It just seemed the wait staff where running around right when it opened just to keep up. We first ordered coffee. I got mine right away because it was a regular coffee. My wife ordered a decaf coffee, it took about 20 minutes to get it. It seemed it was just sitting on the counter and they forget to bring it over until I asked for it. Now for the Food. I had the huevos rancheros and my wife had the pancakes and an order of beacon. The rancheros and coffee were just average. The pancakes had no taste and the beacon was too salty to eat.. Also, no one ever offered to top our coffee, mine was empty for most of our meal. I'm glad I had some water.
Not sure why this place has a lot of good reviews. Maybe because they're not many options for breakfast. Lastly this place is a little overprice for what you get.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AudioTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson L, Owner at Over Easy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

I am so sorry to hear about your visit to the cafe. Im surprised to hear the pancake was lacking in flavor that is a favorite around here. Maybe you'll enjoy your visit next time but either way thank you for trying us out and we will use this review to grow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We had almost a 45 minute wait for breakfast. Excellent food, extra excellent coffee & good service!

Thank PixieTricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson L, Manager at Over Easy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Wow thank you so much for such a nice review! I'm glad to know you enjoyed all parts of your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Over Easy Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Over Easy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing