We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ready now for new year.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asheville Seasons Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Asheville Seasons Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 40 Asheville B&B and Inns
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ready now for new year.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Spent my anniversary and New Year's at the Asheville Seasons B & B. As usual, it was the perfect get-away. Been here many times and always come back. Rooms are big, clean and well decorated. House and yard are a pleasure to look at. Hosts are accommodating, friendly and make you feel comfortable. Breakfasts are awesome. I don't like "porcelain" B & B's, I like somewhere where I can feel at home and just relax. The Seasons is just such a place. I also enjoy meeting the other guests. I have had many a great discussion at this B & B. My favorite place is their front porch. When I sit there all my issues and concerns just slip away. I am re-generated. I am now ready for whatever 2012 might present. Bring it on....

Room Tip: Talk to Ginger about what you like and she will help you get to the right room. I love them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zen2Zen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    2
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
69
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at the Asheville Seasons and have never been treated better. It is a beautifully decorated, comfortable and just an overall "great place to stay". The B & B owners (Ginger and Tag) were wonderful and so accomodating.They asked what time we would like the morning coffee to be available, we told them 8:00 and it was piping hot waiting for us...I mean, come on, what other B&B or hotel would ask that, and fulfill that request??? The breakfasts were beautifully presented with quite a variety of foods on the plate. The herbed eggs served one morning were the best eggs I have ever eaten and I am a very picky person when it comes to food. I am sure this is asked of everyone, but when we called to make the reservation, we were asked if there were any food restrictions or foods that we didn't care for. Again, very accomodating. The room we stayed in (Summer Meadow) was clean, beautifully decorated, smelled nice had a nice fireplace which was great for ambiance. One late afternoon there were hors'devours and wine set out for the guests to enjoy, and we did. We had a chance to meet and get to know some of the other guests that were staying there and the owners as well, and we had a great time. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the owners and would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Recent 5 stay was disappointing No 1 --breakfast with sausage 3 days in a row - an orange daily with peel quartered is not a substitute for a side of potatoes or a biscuit and a slice of quiche is not a B&B good breakfast No 2 --please don't ask me if I want anything done in my room and make me feel like i am imposing if I want clean towels . A wipe down of the sink would have been a nice touch-- maybe leaving a little clip on the door for guest to check off what they might like --- more than 2 hangers --a light in the closet or perhaps a light by the chair so reading would not be a struggle No #3 acknowledge that your guests are early risers and then not serve coffee till 730-8am-then have guests go up and down a flight of stairs to see if its ready downstairs as none was available upstairs- A small Mr Coffee or Kuerig would have been Wonderful-- I would have made my own--- Bottled water would have been nice to keep bedside The bottom line is the inn felt like it was rationing your coffee food and the few cookies left out There are many places to stay in Asheville and I would suggest you find another more cordial place to stay as will I

Room Tip: No AC No ceiling fans windows don't open bed comfortable lighting poor Tub huge Room at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puddinsfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshevilleSeasons, Owner at Asheville Seasons Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Your review of deliberate untruths is obviously a continuation of the previous review by your younger girl friend…or possibly you are the same reviewer.<br><br>

To begin with we sometimes use orange slices for garnish, most guests are not offended by oranges...perhaps you prefer a different type of garnish? Each morning you received a different home cooked breakfast entrée, with a breakfast meat and seasonal fruit. You did not receive sausage three days in a row and yes quiche is standard breakfast fare in many B&B’s. Our quiche is often requested by repeat guests. As a matter of fact, we served a ham and spinach quiche with a side of roasted potatoes when you were here and you ate every bit of it. Now we did notice that your girlfriend didn’t really eat unless French toast or pancakes or were served.<br><br>

Secondly, for a personal touch we do ask guests in the mornings if they need anything for their room. If you would like fresh towels we simply ask that they be left on the floor so that we know to replace them, we find nothing imposing about that. We don’t find fulfilling our guests needs imposing, we want to satisfy. No, we do not do a full room turnover each day, our assistant does do a quick tidy of the bathroom by wiping surfaces if unusually messy and emptying of the trash can while the bed is being made. If you needed anything all you had to do was ask…really as simple as that. We do our best to keep 4 or 5 hangers in each room, which your room did have when you checked in, but definitely only had two after you checked out. Regarding lighting in your room, the large chair is located next to a side table with a lamp which provides a good amount of lighting. Also, there is an overhead light fixture with 5 directional lights which really light up the room brightly.<br><br>

Third, coffee…aaaahhhh, that morning cup of jolt that so many of us need. On our website we say that we provide an early morning service at 8 am, no surprise there. When guests check in we specifically go over breakfast, dietary needs and coffee. At that time it was obvious that you were an early riser. We offered you coffee at an earlier time, you requested coffee at 7 AM. No problem. As a matter of fact, in keeping to the truth of your week here, we noticed you on a few mornings sitting on the front porch or sitting on the middle of the stairs inside prior to 7AM, and we would bring you a cup of coffee. Again at those times we asked if you would like coffee before 7. Your reply being no, as long as you get coffee in the morning….??? Water is available to guests 24/7. We use reverse osmosis water with a BPA free dispenser which all guests are welcome to. Guests are free to take tea cups and glasses of water to their room if they so choose. We also supply soft drinks and V8 juice for our guests to enjoy, at no charge. Also, we are not sure how you felt that we rationed anything. I guess you were attempting to ration off our other guests by taking the entire 14 cup coffee carafe and all of the cups to your room. Of course we happily made more coffee and put out more cups for our other guests enjoyment once we realized what was happening.<br><br>

You know, everyone is welcome to post a review, but at least you should be honest. To be so callous and dishonest is completely uncalled for…and why? We are a very small business and enjoy what we do. We base how we operate our B&B on the many different B&B’s that we have enjoyed over the past 20 years. Every B&B is different and the way that they operate is at the discretion of the individual owner. We are welcoming, friendly, hospitable and yes we are even cordial. We strive not to have a “hotel/motel-like” feel as we are a home away from home. We are not for everyone nor do we expect to be. <br><br>

Life is short and we all have a choice. We can choose to be miserable or happy. We wish you happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Everyone before us seemed so thrilled with the Inn and it's hosts, so that was what lead us to stay here for a week. Fisrt off, you should know there are a LOT of stairs and uneven steps going up to the house, and a 2 flight staircase inside. You would want to know this if you are handicapped or have any problem with lots of stairs. The house is very pretty, and in the historic Montford district, which is very close to downtown Asheville. We stayed in the Leaf Peeper room, and it was very roomy and comfortable, with a large bathroom. It was very clean upon arrival, but we were very surprised to find the room was not cleaned while we were there. The bed was made, and towels were replaced, but that was it. Nothing was wiped down in the bathroom, as far as the sink and tub go. The owner let us know upon arrival that there were plastic cups in the dining room cupboard, because people were taking cups up to their rooms (she was perplexed at this). We did take some cups, so we could have a drink of water to take medicine, etc. I am certain this is why other people were taking cups upstairs too.

There are not too many places to go in the house. You can use your room, the parlor, the dining room, or the porch. There was not enough light for reading in the room, and a reading light behind one of the chairs would have been great. Another guest complained to us that there was really no place to sit in their room, so you may want to ask if you would like a room with seating. Our closet had about 2 hangers, and since their are no dressers for clothing, more would have been handy. The room had windows, and because it was warm, we opened one, but had to prop it with the 2 hangers because it wouldn't stay open. When we came back from our day out, the window was closed, and an un-openable storm window was put in place. We got the message they didn't want us opening the window. We had a tv in our room, but I am not sure if they all do, you may have to request it. There are few channels though, probably around 7.

You get a breakfast each morning, which was ok, but had some type of sausage 4 of the 5 days we stayed. Something different would have been nice. It would have been nice to have one alternative to the main breakfast each day, like a simple granola or something. Also, breakfast is a surprise. You don't know what you're having until it's served to you. Coffee seems to be rationed here, and don't expect any after breakfast time. I highly recommend the inn keepers purchase a Keurig system so visitors can enjoy coffee whenever they like. There is a water bottle in the dining room that dispenses hot/cold water, so you can have tea. It would have been so nice to come back in the afternoon or evening to settle down with a cup of coffee. There are cookies left out daily, but they were nothing special and not home made. They tasted like the buy-and-bake dough type. There are snacks and some sodas available, but the snacks were Sam's Club individual packs of trail mix, and were the same every day. Basically, coffee can be searched for at around 8am, breakfast is at 9am, then that's it for the day. I know most people go out and explore, but it just seemed odd to me that there was a great lack of a personal touch at this inn. And at the price they charge, I would certainly expect more. The whole experience felt mostly self-serve. It was all very odd.

Room Tip: Ask a LOT of questions, and be specific about your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom2aaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshevilleSeasons, Owner at Asheville Seasons Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Honestly we had to laugh at these reviews once we got over the initial surprise to such deliberate untruths. Everyone is entitled to do a review, but if you are going to do it, AT LEAST be honest…We truly believe that anyone that comes across this will see right through the type of person that wrote it. Yet, we still feel we need to address it.

Of course we have stairs. It is not something we have tried to hide. As a matter of fact on the homepage of our website, we have 3 pictures that clearly show a multi-story house with what…stairs???? Each room description also indicates what floor the room is located on in clear bullet points. AND, we do not have a two flight stair case inside of the house like you claim. I wish we did. That would be so cool! Also, we are not handicap accessible and have never claimed to be, nor did you seem handicapped, so how is this an issue…?

Also, on our website we offer TV’s on request, as they are not left in rooms. No surprise there. More often than not, our guests do not even want to see a TV, much less watch one. As a courtesy, we have them available for those of our guests that do. Yes, our rooms are cable ready with the exception of our Endless Summer room. CABLE READY!!!! Meaning there are CLEARLY more than 7 channels.

Let’s see, coffee. Again, referring back to our website, it does clearly state early morning coffee service at 8am. Again, no surprise. We are accommodating and your girl friend requested coffee at 7am, which we did for her, every morning. We even poured her a cup earlier on several occasions and brought it to her while she sat on the front porch early in the mornings or when we found her sitting in the middle of the interior staircase…? What was that about? At that time and several times after that she was asked if she wanted coffee prior to 7am. She said no, as long as she was able to get coffee. Ooookayyyy…we really did not know what time to put coffee out for her other than the time she specifically requested, 7AM!

Oh, and yes we do provide an assortment of teas for guests, as if this is a bad thing…? On our website, we clearly say that we have a variety of teas in the dining room. If you wanted coffee in the evening all you had to do was simply ask, just as we asked you if there was anything you needed. You always said no. We would have gladly made some coffee for you. We never once claimed to have 24 hour coffee service, but we do make sure our guests know we are available to them and approachable should they need something. A B&B does not have a 24 hour manned desk like a hotel/motel would…but we are here!

Yes, upon all guest arrivals we show them where water glasses, tea cups, and plastic cups are. They are there for a reason and yes, guest can even take them to their room. Nothing perplexing about that.

As far as grab and go snacks, we leave them out as a courtesy (one of those things we would like to see form our past B&B experiences) we do buy granola bars, nutra-grain bars and trail mixes in bulk, so what? You did not seem to have any problems having more than your fair share…and we would happily restock for other guest’s enjoyment. Our guests seem to appreciate that they are there. We also have a guest refrigerator in the dining room stocked with soft drinks and V8 juice as a courtesy to guest. I guess what we could do is put one of those refrigerators in each room that you find in hotel rooms that charge you $5+ dollars every time you take something from it…and maybe charge for WIFI usage as well. Wouldn’t that have a nice hotel-like feel to it? Of course we would never do that!

As far as breakfast we are not a hotel with a restaurant…breakfast is not made to order and there is not a menu to pick and choose from. It is at our discretion, again which is stated on the website. Breakfast is decided once all guests have arrived and we have spoken with every one regarding dietary restrictions, allergies/sensitivities to foods. We often are use to working around guest dietary needs and sensitivities should that come up. If your dietary needs required high sugar and fat with low nutrient content, we could have accommodated you. Also, there was always coffee available every morning after breakfast if any one wanted more coffee. We poured almost full carafes out on a daily basis, which is a normal practice throughout the year.

We did supply you with new towels everyday. No, we do not do a full turnover of rooms for a stay over. However, the surfaces are wiped down and trash is emptied by our assistant while the bed is being made. As far as your window goes, yes I would shut it every day. (which would mean that it was operable) If I didn’t the room would get too hot, as that room faces south and the sun can really warm it up. Yes the nights were cooler but the days were still warm when you were here in October. Believe it or not, I was doing you a favor. OH and your bedroom window absolutely was not replaced with an inoperable storm window…really? Where is all of this coming from? All of the windows on this house have storm windows to help insulate the original windows to this house. They are all operable, in the Leaf Peeper room as well. The storm windows were already on the house when we purchased it. Again, we have to chuckle.

We also have ample seating in each and every room which is to scale for the individual rooms. We seriously doubt any other guest in the house complained about this as you say they did. We were quite familiar with the guests that were here the same week you were. Lighting in this room is more than adequate…as we responded in our response to your friends review.

Common space, how much do you need? As you stated, there is the parlor, dining room, and front porch. We also have a deck and large foyer. Keep in mind this house was built over 100 years ago. There is more than enough common space and is also to scale for this house. Again, we’re not a hotel, we are a home. We are a home that people enjoy coming to and we have many repeat guests.

Out of the over 4 ½ years we have been here, we have NEVER had anyone blatantly distort the truth quite like this. It almost seems like you purposely pulled specifics from our website and made them out to be something negative…AND for what reason? We are a very small business and we have based how we operate our B&B based on the B&B’s we have enjoyed for the past 20 years. Things we have liked at B&B’s and things that we would have liked. Every B&B is different and the way they are run is at the discretion of each individual owner. We are hospitable, friendly, welcoming, AND always available to guests should they need or want something or in case of an emergency. We are not for everyone. Nor do we expect to be. Life is short and we all have a choice to be miserable or happy. We wish you both a long life of happiness! 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keystone Heights, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast located near lots of fun activities and attractions. Very clean rooms and wonderful breakfasts! THANKS to Tag and Ginger for a wonderful stay again!

Room Tip: They are all special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
1889 WhiteGate Inn & Cottage
#25 of 40 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#8 of 40 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Five Points
ASIA Bed and Breakfast Spa
ASIA Bed and Breakfast Spa
#12 of 40 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Historic Montford
Rankin House Inn
Rankin House Inn
#26 of 40 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheville Seasons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville Seasons Bed and Breakfast

Property: Asheville Seasons Bed and Breakfast
Address: 43 Watauga St, Asheville, NC 28801-1027 (Formerly Katherine's Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy one of Asheville’s more intimate Inns just walking distance from downtown.Tastefully appointed rooms feature king or queen beds, and most rooms have fireplaces.Envelope yourself in comfort on our much talked about beds.Wake to the smell of fresh organic coffee and a hearty breakfast.To further your enjoyment, you will not find a television in your room unless you request one.At Asheville Seasons Bed & Breakfast the Innkeepers/owners are onsite and will greet you at the door to welcome you to a B&B that feels more like home than a museum. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing