We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing RV park and View, convenient location, clean bathrooms/showers, AVOID CLIFF HOUSE Like the PLAGUE”
Review of Campfire Lodgings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Campfire Lodgings
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing RV park and View, convenient location, clean bathrooms/showers, AVOID CLIFF HOUSE Like the PLAGUE”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed with a group of 6- 2 in premium RV spot - INCREDIBLE!!! Amazing view, cement patio, nice landscaping, unobstructed view of Blue Ridge Mtns. And French Broad River, full hookups, cute camp store. 4 of us were SORELY disappointed with Cliff House =( Save your hard-earned money. Website is accurate, but avoids the pitfalls - HORRIBLY MUSTY AND MILDEWY, NUMEROUS COBWEBS EVERYWHERE. Felt very creeped out when we saw "droppings" on bed and dresser in bedroom. All of the antiques and amenities were overlooked because we were so upset that we paid premium $$$$ For what we got. On the positive side, they sheets and towels were clean =) Some cool antiques, too. Wi-Fi does NOT work in house. No blow dryer in any of 3 full baths. I would go back ONLY if in RV park, NEVER Cliff House.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KristaLee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    34
    16
    3
    11
See reviews for
59
64
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We just LOVE this place--Big RV , tent , or anything in between--this is the place! Small, super well kept, excellent bath house, pets always welcome--and the VIEWS are amazing! We love this place because you are on top of a mountain and can see to the next state --secluded and private as can be but you are only a mile from a great Ingles grocery that has everything, easy gas up and right down the street is a wonderful wine store, ABC store, high end grocery with anything you could want --go a few miles and you are downtown Asheville! Do not stay without a trip to the Sunnyside for breakfast, the Stoney knob cafe 1 mile down --great dinner for grown ups very reasonable $, Salsas downtown for lunch will knock your socks off, and many local clubs that always have great music, Tresas is THE spot to go dancing! Andy, (female)The super sweet and damn capable manager will take great care of you the entire stay --they have a super on the site 24 hours a day so any problems are handled promptly--wild life everywhere and QUIET!!!
I hate to do this review because it may be booked up when I want to go.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dusterdave173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed at an RV site. Very nice, fairly small campground which was perfect. Extremely quiet and relaxing. The sites could use a bit more trees, but we stay mostly in state parks, so we used to a bit more vegetation. Beautiful views and nice trails. Wild turkeys wandering around every morning which was great to see. Very clean. Nice individual bathrooms/showers in the bath house. Tent sites were in the woods, and were private. I would highly recommend. Also. for a great dinner check out the Stoney Knob Cafe - excellent food and ambiance (I wouldn't call it a cafe - it's a nice restaurant).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

This campground is immaculate. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. If you know how to drive your rig, the road to the campground is no problem. The sites have beautiful views and are spacious. Everything is clean. The hiking trails are great. The location is convenient to Asheville and the Blue Ridge Parkway. We had no issues at all. We brought our dog and they let him play off leash since we were the only campers there for the weekend. Although it was January, the temperature there actually got into the mid-60's and we had a lovely stay. Matt got us checked in and was there on site 24 hrs in case we needed anything. He even lent us his bottle of ketchup when we needed some! We stayed here on a "business trip", and if we have to be in Asheville again, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tambarnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

I can only start with the rude way we were greeted by a not so friendly pissed off "what do you want". i would think the obvious answer would be that we were interested in staying here. But i guess that's not obvious. When signing in the man was pushy, rude, wouldn't look me in the eye and just plain mean. i asked if there was acess to the river and he replied " GO STAY AT THE RIVER IF YOU WANT A RIVER" . it was merely a question. so we did look at our "tent" area it was a sad little hole in the dark corner of a dirt road. no view no openings at all hardly enough room to walk around in after you park your car and set up. Only until i told him that we were unhappy about the view and general campsite did he start to act nice. "ohhh i wouldn't want you not to stay here" in a very condescending way. He just didn't want me to hassle him and try to get a refund. Even though we walked to our site saw it and came back wanted a refund he wouldn't. only gave us partial. Needless to say we didn't stay there. Right down the road is French Broad river camp go there they are nice and super friendly. Campfire Lodgings will ruin your trip unless you are in a RV and have the view they do. be warned.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank startxtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 65 in Asheville
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 65 in Asheville
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campfire Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campfire Lodgings

Property: Campfire Lodgings
Address: 116 Appalachian Village Rd, Asheville, NC 28804-9636
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Asheville
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains with panoramic views, 4-5 miles of hiking trails and a "catch and release" fishing pond. Come experience the peacefulness and calm of nature on top of Goldview Knob while being in such close proximity to downtown Asheville, whitewater rafting, horseback riding, waterfalls, and the Biltmore Estates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Campfire Lodgings Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing