We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
60
31
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
31
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild horses bath house tent camping quiet hours maryland state ocean city camp store hot water tent stakes nature center dump station fire ring beach access mosquitoes bathhouse rv hookups
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

We checked online to see if any sites open for same afternoon arrival for weekend visit and luckily yes. So we went to the office and we were able to obtain a site on the one loop with 30 amp electric hookup. Office staff very helpful. Quick check in. Campsite loops in alphabetical order and sites numbered so easy to find. Plenty of room for long rv and tow vehicle.
One dump station with trash bin location for entire park with potable water at this one location location as well.
All loops have beach access. Camp-store on grounds. Tent and rv sites

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank crloganphila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

This is a really beautiful place to camp. We went RV camping but you can tent camp as well. This is a very very clean park with beautiful views. Office staff and rangers are extremely friendly and informative. If you are on the east cost you must stay at this park at least once. If you are RVn there is a dump station and fresh water station to fill and dump your tanks. Also the campground has new and very clean bathrooms where you can shower with hot water. There are male and female bathrooms/showers and a family shower which is great if you have little kids. There are sinks outside of the bathrooms to wash pots and pans etc. The ponies roam free which are beautiful to watch. Just keep food locked away.
Tips:
1) book in advance... spots go fast
2) only loop H has electric
3) May and June (my opinion) are the best months to visit... no bugs! And not too hot
4) There is no WIFI

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jm2546365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

After a trip to DC, we wanted to do some camping, preferably near a beach. We didn't have a rigid timeline, so we searched all along the Atlantic coast. We decided on Assateague because of a) the convenience and facilities, and b) the horses. The campsite itself was small, but nice. It was extremely windy during our stay, though we were prepared and never had any major tent issues. I'm not sure if this was normal, or because of Hurricane Matthew brewing to the south of us. (We also got lucky there...the hurricane approached the day we were scheduled to leave, anyway!) Although it was too cold for other beach activities, it still made for a nice walk in the morning and a relaxing stay. There are also plenty of activities and places to visit in the area, which kept us busy. The horses are out and about, though they only approached our actual campsite once. We stashed the food pretty quickly, so they ignored us and went to steal food from some other campers, which was also entertaining. The biggest downside is the distance from our home. If we get the chance, we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank SelfTitled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We go here every year. Camping is great, and cheap. They have showers and bathrooms which are always clean. The beach is awesome and seeing the wild horses are amazing. One of my favorite places to go

Room Tip: The campsites in the beginning are near the sand beaches, further down you get the seashell beaches which is still nice
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Alisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Assateague is a barrier island, connected by the Verrazano bridge to Berlin, Maryland. It has three campgrounds. Bay side and beach side campgrounds are part of the Assateague Island National Seashore, operated by the National Park Service which we visited four years ago and drove through during this visit. None of the sites have hookups nor are there flush toilets or hot showers. Wild horses roam the entire island which is part of its attraction.

The third is this beach-front state campground operated by the State of Maryland. A large parking lot adjacent to the check-in office welcomes campers. Amenities offered in this campground include modern showers, flush toilets and some sites with 30-amp/20-amp electric hookups. All of the campsites are spacious, paved, mostly level and just a dune or short walk from Assateague Island’s beautiful beaches. We arrived at about 8:45 on a Friday evening on the last weekend in October.

The campground’s on-line system informed me, when I made our reservation, that there were no electric hook-up sites available, but the welcoming staff at the check-in office was able to give us the option of upgrading to a pet-friendly site with an electric hook-up for a slightly higher rate. That enhanced our camping experience. There was a convenient well-illuminated place to fill our fresh water tank next to the parking lot at the check-in office. A dump station on the campground offers a convenient place to empty waste tanks but it gets backed-up at check-out time. There is a nearby additional station for refilling fresh water tanks.

For someone seeking to camp within walking distance of pristine beaches and enjoy nature without sacrificing comfort and security, this campground is nearly ideal. There are extensive paved biking, hiking trails, the protection of an entrance gate and regular but not intrusive patrols of this campground by state park rangers. This is one of very few campgrounds along the Maryland, Delaware, New Jersey and New York Atlantic coast that offers beach-front camping, which explains its popularity even late in the camping season.

Room Tip: Site H-13 is closest to the beach and has electric hookup
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank Lewis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews