We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place!”
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love This Place!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Red Cliffs Lodge is about 16 miles out of town (Moab) and isn't the most convenient lodging choice, but what it makes up for is peacefulness, large, quiet rooms, and gorgeous views, as it sits right on the Colorado River. In February, the dining room is closed, but guest rooms have kitchenettes where you can prepare your own food. Be forewarned, wi-fi and cell phone service is very sketchy here. The resort has an exercise room, pool and hot tub.
This is my third stay at Red Cliffs and won't be my last.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sedona9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,960
    588
    117
    43
    10
See reviews for
891
1,234
64
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Red Cliffs Lodge is nice, but in reality the rooms are on par with a Best Western(maybe) or Ramada. The beds and linens seemed dated, but everything worked ok. If you want to eat in town and tour the shops in Moab, then stay in Moab. If you desire to be away from the crowds and don't intend to leave the property much, then this may be your place.

The Queenside suites are "creekside", and not on the Colorado river. You can not see the creek from your room.

All in all, a nice enough place, but to describe it as 5 star is being dishonest.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DurangoClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, NV
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights here, we had reserved 2 and added the third. We feel very fortunately to have found it. It's very clean, Staff is outstanding. Really love Jennifer!
The location is 14 miles from Moab, which we didn't feel was a negative. The staff did let us know how far it was and that their restuarant was closed.
Enough can not be said about the peace and quiet and the beauty of the area and of the Lodge. We had the off-season rate, but even at full price this place is a bargain!
Normally, we don't spend alot of time in a room but we did here - We really liked our room and the patio facing the Colorado River.
I left a necklace in my room and it was promptly mailed to me.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SimplyCin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

When it came time to picking some accommodation in the Moab area for our trip, we were lucky enough to have this gem pop up in our searches. Often wary of the glossy tourist brochures that show the one spectacular view, leaving the other not so wonderful views for you to discover once you arrive, there was none of that in this case. Everything was as advertised and then some!

From the moment I rang from Australia to make a booking, the staff were helpful and friendly, assisting with suggestions for a room type (glad we took their advice). We stayed in one of the riverside King suites and had a great view out over the Colorado river. The local squirrels put on a show just outside our door and the peace and tranquillity of the place was enchanting.

We ate dinner both nights in the restaurant on site, as well as had breakfast one morning. The food was faultless and the service very good. It was very relaxing sitting on the back deck watching the river flow by as the sun set while eating our meal.

There are many activities one can do around the lodge as well as in the nearby area. While it is a 15 mile trip back to Moab which takes about 20-25 minutes, we were still close enough to easily reach Arches national park and the main town centre of Moab.

If I ever get back to Utah, this is definitely one place I want to spend a week at - rather than just the two nights we had. You can see something of the lodge in my film I made of our journey up to Moab from Monument Valley here: http://vimeo.com/36636605 and you can see the squirrels playing outside our door here: http://vimeo.com/30577688

In summary - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room that overlooks the river - it's worth it having your own patio and being a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant_VK5GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Let be start out by saying this was my first trip to Moab. The beauty of the land there... in such a small concentrated area is so stunning. What's fantastic about staying at Red Cliffs... is that you have so much of that concentrated beauty (literally) at your front door.

We stayed in a queen river suite last August (2011) with our patio facing the Colorado. It's truly fantastic. At night... it's a black, star-lit sky with the milkyway and shooting stars... and the sunsets at dusk are amazing.

The room was comfortable... laid out well ... with good AC and cool lighting.
The pool area was nice as was the fitness center (but hopefully you'll be hiking tons in Moab, so you won't be using it that much. :)

Our first night we had dinner at the restaurant there, and it was good. A tasty steak dinner. Nothing amazing... but still tasty... and better than average for what you usually get at a hotel. My last morning there... before going on one last hike in Arches... I had the breakfast buffet there... which was very good.

The staff was always friendly... ESPECIALLY Elaine, the bartender. LOVED her!!! She is the best!!!

As you've probably read in other reviews... the only real negative is that it's a 20 minute ride (but a VERY beautiful one at that) from the center of Moab, itself. Thus ... you just have to really remember... WHAT you need when you're in town to stock up for your fridge, etc. There is no convenience store (as far as food goes) near the hotel. There's also no ATM in the hotel... which I found a little odd (and only was inconvenient once... as I forgot to get cash when we went to go on a river rafting trip and we needed to have cash to tip our guides.)

Again... though ... it's a great place with amazing surroundings... that truly have you feeling you're immersed in the land and environment.

Check out the movie museum while you're there too. Cool stuff!!!

Room Tip: get a river suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadKat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
15.3 km away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
14.4 km away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
15.1 km away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
14.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
15.1 km away
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Property: Red Cliffs Lodge
Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing