We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owner treats customers poorly”

Canyon Voyages Adventure Co - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canyon Voyages Adventure Co. offers half, full and multi-day river trips on the Colorado and Green rivers around Moab, Utah for you and your family. Our professional guides will make your river experience comfortable and fun! If you're a 'do-it-yourself' type, Canyon Voyages Adventure Co. is the premier rental shop for all your boating and camping needs
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

They refused to honor our PREPAID inflatable kayak rental. The owner told us they were just too tired because they had been working all day. This was at 4:30 in the afternoon. He was a complete jerk to us. We called and paid for several inflatable kayaks a month in advance of our trip. We called to verify the arrangements the night before and were told everything was in order. When we showed up to pick up the boats, the owner threw a complete fit and refused to honor the arrangements we had made and walked away from us. They refunded our money, but left us in a bind because we had a youth group of about ten kids. Luckily we found a new company down the road. The people there (Wild West Adventures) bent over backwards to help us and even stayed late to get us set up.

Over the years, I have spent thousands of dollars at this place. It used to be a great business owned by the Oblaks. But recently it was sold. The new owner is a complete jerk. One recent review mentioned how poorly he treated his employees in full view of customers. This does not surprise me, considering the way he treated me and my group. I will never patronize this business again. They are lazy, unorganized, and unprofessional now. If I could give them zero stars, I would.

Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonVoyages, Owner at Canyon Voyages Adventure Co - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

We welcome this review, because we learn from every customer experience, how we can better serve our customers and improve our services.

We pulled your contract from 4 months ago to refresh our memories on your specific situation. We notated the person who made the original reservation, which was not you and the contract was dated for pick up on 5/29. It did indeed stated in big letters “if possible” for pick-up 5/28, a day early at 5:00pm, for no extra charge, and based on availability. Maybe that is where the miscommunication had a breakdown, because we didn't speak to the person picking up the equipment directly.

Early pick-up availability is determinant, and why we don’t guarantee it, on our previous rental customer’s return time. If the rented equipment is not returned to the rental shop early enough our rental staff hasn’t the ability to perform all the appropriate safety checks and cleaning necessary for delivery to our next customer. We wouldn’t want to rush this process and potentially deliver a rental that sacrifices quality and safety for any customer.

Memorial Day weekend is a very busy time for us and on that day, our entire fleet of inflatable kayaks, in addition to several rafts, SUP boards and other rental equipment were out with customers for the day. Customer daily rentals are due back at 5:30pm, our staff, noting the number of rentals and boats out that day and the number of boats you had on your rental agreement, the “if possible” request and taking into consideration that customers bump up against the 5:30pm deadline, rightly initiated a call to the person who originally made the reservation around 11 am to inform them it was not possible for us to provide you with the boats a day early.

The inflatable kayaks you were renting had not yet been returned by that day’s customers when you arrived in the store at 5:00pm or at the time of you return receipt printed at 5:20:22pm, which is what we had anticipated when we called that morning and spoke to the person who originally made the reservation.

We remember working on a solution that could assist in meeting your request in some way for about 20 minutes. I checked with our rental staff to determine if we could turn the equipment if it came back before the rental shop closed at 6:00pm and they quickly pointed out all the rental boats and equipment from that day’s rentals waiting to be checked in and unloaded. Seeing this we determined it would be impossible to provide you with the rental for early pick up that evening.

We offered a middle of the road solution; providing you the boats the next morning by opening our rental shop at 7:30 am, 2.5 hours earlier than the regular rental shop business hours. Unfortunately, you were not interested in that solution.

Our entire staff strives to go above and beyond in meeting all our customer’s requests regardless how much money they spend with us. We apologize that on this rare occasion; we were unable meet your request.

Brian & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

We had a great time on our half day trip down the Colorado River with Colton, our river guide. He was good with all the guests on our raft, from the elderly to the young ones. He was very knowledgeable about the area and gave some great tips for those of us staying in the area. The scenery was great and the cool waters of the river were most welcome.

Thank theandrews98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Noah was our raft guide. He made it so much fun to be out on the water. He knew a lot about the geology and biology of the river and the surroundings. I would recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys the water and beautiful views.

Thank ColeLaLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Our family had a wonderful time on the river with our guide, Noah! The half day tour went by way too quickly! The scenery was spectacular and Noah was extremely knowledgable about the local history and geography.

Winnipeg, Canada

Thank sphamnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We did a half day calm water kayak trip on the Colorado River. Our 2 guides, Carlton and Zack were really friendly, knowledgable and helpful. It was so interesting to see the area from another perspective and in such a relaxed manner. The kayaks were good, transport worked well and all the staff very helpful.

Thank MrsRRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Canyon Voyages Adventure Co - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing