We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
222
9
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
222
9
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews civil war wonderful hosts bed and breakfast crepes ginger cookies other guests host and hostess pleasure of staying highly recommend this b b spent two nights french toast each morning breakfast was delicious omelet fresh fruit interesting history third floor
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We wanted to take a weekend vacation to Harpers Ferry and looked at all the B&B's in town and decided to stay at the Jackson Rose. Was a very good choice hosts where very welcoming. Rooms are very comfortable and quite. The breakfasts are amazing better than you will get at a restaurant. Very close to town and are very knowledgeable of the town and things to do in the area.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Denton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We loved this place. We were on a mini vacation to the Harpers Ferry area and wanted to stay in a B & B, instead of a traditional hotel/motel. I found the Jackson Roae on-line and am so hapoy I did.
It is a wonderful restored home that is full of historical significance for this area. The location is perfect for walking around the area, or hopping in the car and driving to other points of interest. The owners could not have been more welcoming and gracious. Their small son and extremely large dog made this feel welcoming, even though neither child nor dog ventured into the guest quarters.
The breakfasts were delicious. Muffins that were gourmet. Fresh fruit. Candles on the table and a fire lit in the fireplace. It had turned chilly while we were there, so the fire added a coziness to the room as we had breakfast.
There is no doubt that we will return to the area, since we didn't work in even half of what we thiught we would. And when we return, if at all possible, this is where we will stay.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MaggieSue_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

If you are staying in Harper"s Ferry, then this is the only place to stay. Phil and Deb are wonderful hosts, and the sheer ambiance of this historic house will make your spine tingle. To be able to walk the floors and sleep in the same room that Thomas Jonathan (Stonewall) Jackson lived in during the Civil War is mind numbing for any history buff.
If you you leave the breakfast table after savoring Deb and Phil's creations (Okay, mostly Deb's) hungry, then it's your own fault. Deb and Phil (and Roy and Jack) will make your experience truly one to remember. I can't recommend this B&B highly enough. We've been coming here for seven or eight years, and I cannot imagine staying anywhere else.

Room tip: Wonderful experience, not to be missed. Can;t say enough good things about this B&B!!!!!!!
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aardvark97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful historic house. We received a warm welcome when we arrived as well as some good travel tips. We stayed in the Garrett room which was nicely decorated with privacy on the top floor. The hot breakfast was delicious - one of the best we've had. Highly recommend for comfortable and relaxing stay.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank emc_traveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

General Stonewall Jackson stayed here at beggining of the Civil War. He wrote to his wife about at all rose outside his bedroom window. Don't worry. Your host provides all the modern convenience in electricity, plumbing and temperature control. The indies decor is tasteful and comfortable.. We slept well in the quiet atmosphere. It is about a mile to the historic district. You can walk or drive or park in the public lots. Breakfast was exceptionally good. Your hosts are knowledgeable and alway willing to help. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: November 2016
Thank sclark21356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews