We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Old Rittenhouse Inn(Bayfield)
US$332
US$186
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$247/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$152
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$168
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$231
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
US$136
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
32
26
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
26
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant next doorprivate deckgreat viewmadeline islandwithin walking distancelate octoberhotel moteljacuzzi tubperfect locationyogurttwo queensferry terminalmy husband and icomplimentary breakfastsconesoff seasonin town
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We are so happy we chose to stay at the Bayfront Inn for our first trip to Bayfield. The town in general is a quaint, family-orientated area with no "mainstream" qualities (hotels, quick service restaurants, etc.) so be prepared that you will not have room service, elevators, or electronic room keys at any location you choose to stay. The room choices fill up VERY quickly. We booked our room 6+ months ahead of time and still were limited on the room we could pick from because of how far out you need to book. My husband and I, being newlyweds, wanted a lakeview with a balcony room and are so happy we did because my goodness, that view is gorgeous! Our room was simple, with a king bed, mini fridge, and microwave. It was a little muggy in the room when we got there but there was an A/C unit in the room which quickly solved the problem. The Inn is the perfect location and within walking distance to everything! hey offer a small pastry and coffee selection for breakfast, which was great for us. The staff was all very nice and helpful! The parking spots were limited but the staff quickly helped us out when the lot was full and we didn't know where to park. The restaurant next door and owned by the same people was literally fantastic, we ended up eating there 2 out of our 3 nights!
Overall, would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

This was our first visit to the area and this inn. The room was very nice and spacious, we unfortunately had one of the rooms without a balcony (which would have been nice, not sure if we would have used) but the view of the harbor/lake was awesome. The location was right in the heart of the town and a short (very) walk from all the activities that we wanted to do - we didn't need our car during our entire 3-day visit. We were more than pleased with the continental breakfast - scones were yummy! We were initially surprised at the high-season rates of all the properties in the area, we usually don't spend this much per night - but because of the room, breakfast, location and super friendly staff we felt that their rate was reasonable and we would definitely recommend to family/friends.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views - try to get one on the 2nd floor with a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sflathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We usually stay in properties of a certain hotel company, so stepping outside the box in a new destination was a bit of a challenge, but wow, did we win with the Bayfront Inn! I reserved on their website, but wasn't sure I had enough information, so gave their main number a call, got clarification from a super friendly person who suggested a different room, which turned out to be a wonderful spot. We stayed above the restaurant in Room #12, so had amazing views of both the ferry/excursion harbor and the park and would definitely stay in that room/area of the hotel again.
Our room had two queens, and sleeper sofa, fireplace, Jacuzzi tub, and an extra sink outside of the bathroom, which was more than we needed in the suite that went from front to back of the building. I would have given a 5 but the fireplace didn't work, and on the lake, you never know when you could use a fireplace - would definitely give it a 4.5 if I could!
The price for a three night stay was very affordable, and we found all of the docks and other sites in town an easy walk with a zillion photo opportunities.
Be sure to pay attention to all of the rooms on line before you book - all rooms are upstairs (22 steps!) and there are no elevators, so your Fitbit will love you. Some rooms also do not have private bathrooms, which is not unusual in this area. No problem staying directly above the restaurant, as it closes up at a decent hour although we didn't notice any noise from downstairs at any time of our stay. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, right down to Karen, our waitress on our first night, and Fran, who while manning the bar, gave us some great pointers on getting around to the orchards and other sites. The restaurant, which usually closes up around 9:00 during the week, stays open a bit longer when hungry passengers get back to the harbor after their cruise out to the Apostle Islands (a must!)
We will definitely be back to this quaint little jewel on the Lake Superior shore - so glad we took the chance on this one - thanks to everyone at The Bayfront Inn - see you again real soon!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

I am in love with this place. The location could not be better and the owners were so nice. We stayed in room 1 which is an upper unit with two queens and a jacuzzi. We didn't have a deck but the room was actually bigger because of it. The room was huge, clean, and cozy. The view was spectacular and lake was glistening. They give complimentary breakfast of yogurt, pasteries, juice, eggs in the morning. The ferry landing was feet away and th town was right there. We definitely lucked out at this place and if I return to bayfield I will stay here every time. The best experience.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Miranda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

I really like this hotel/motel. Our room, #13, was perfect for our family of 5. 2 Queen beds and a sleeper sofa. Beds are comfortable with quality linens, bathrooms are modern and clean (and I'm a sucker for a heat lamp). Our private deck gave us a great view of both "downtown" Bayfield and Madeline Island on Lake Superior. The owners are very sweet family folks. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: upper deck all the way
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leahg1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews