We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and interesting.”

Greunke's First Street Inn & Dining
Ranked #9 of 18 Restaurants in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Bayfield, Greunke's has been serving food to locals and visitors alike since 1940. Our fun, funky, and eclectic décor sparks memories for all generations and we are family friendly! Our fabulous staff makes your experience even more memorable. The menu offers a variety of burgers, sandwiches, salads, steak, pasta, and of course, FRESH fish from Lake Superior. Be sure to try the "Greunke's Original"--Whitefish Livers!
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Small facility but lots of charm. Food was decent and the service was more than adequate. Lots of interesting "stuff" throughout the restaurant with heavy emphasis on Coke memorabilia. The menu lists past guests of interest some of which were more than noteworthy.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2018

Don't judge a book by its cover. Looking at it from the outside, I was expecting something a little fancy and stuffy. Not so! When you walk in, you will see the long counter where you can sit and eat or wait and get one of the tables. The decor is mainly record albums/covers on the wall and ceiling with a mixture of Coke memorabilia and posters. The menu is a newspaper that talks about the Inn and restaurants (they rent rooms). We had the special of the day which was prime rib, mashed potatoes and gravy and coleslaw. A decent meal for the money. They also serve breakfast until 1:00. It looks like they may have patio seating too but it was likely closed for the season.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

the waitress was friendly and helpful, however when we were ready to pay/leave we were standing by the counter several min being ignored by the gal who was to take our payment, she was busy talking to a man sitting at the bar area (whom we had to walk past to get to the counter), you could tell they were not strangers, chatting away, finally she came to take our payment.. we were in a hurry to get to the boat area for the water cruise. The food was good, and generous, however the beef on the hot beef was what resembled thin slices of beef lunch meat! however it was good and the gravy/bread/potatoes and dressing were delicious! nice décor of older items on the walls was interesting. Womens restroom not clean, and extremely tiny. good filling meal tho!!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Although we didn't stay here (they have very unique rooms available), we did eat here a couple times and the food was quite good. The blueberry pancakes and thick bacon were exceptional. Their decor is of days gone by and totally interesting with all the pictures, displays, 1946 jukebox, and then there's their menu (totally loved it) in newspaper form. Try it - you'll enjoy it!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Thus is a fun place with lots of history packed into it.... vinyl record covers on the ceiling, lots of Coca Cola memorabilia, a menu made into a newspaper..... you can see all the celebs who have stopped in for food. They have a good fish fry, as well as homemade meatloaf, good burgers. Wait staff is very accommodating and nice. This is a good place to go to get the feel of Bayfield!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank lizardMarquette_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greunke's First Street Inn & Dining also viewed

 

Been to Greunke's First Street Inn & Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing