We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky atmosphere, a unique experience, but.....”

Maggie's Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I had read somewhere about Maggie's, and was really impressed with the raves about the burgers, but my "medium rare" burger arrived, after a long wait, as "medium" at best, taste ok but not fabulous. The place was very busy - 25 minute wait for a table for 4 adults and 3 kids (6, 4 & 2) - they told us that up front, but what was unexpected was the painfully long wait for our food, after our orders had been placed! I was the only burger order, but the others' whitefish and trout orders all received really high marks, which caused me to give the overall rating "very good".

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ClearWater62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Arrived at Maggie's at about 7pm. The place was heaving so we went to the bar and ordered appetisers and drinks. The kids loved their onion rings and we enjoyed the whitefish livers! It was a great place for a game of UNO while we waited for our table.

45 minutes later, as promised, our table was ready! The chicken salad was lovely and the whitefish fillet was enormous! Two entrees was quite enough!

By this time, we were completely stuffed. But we found a corner for the ice cream sampler. Two of the best ice cream flavours we'd ever had: liquorice and chocolate-espresso. Lavender was a little odd - possibly overpowered by the other flavours!

Quite wonderful! We thoroughly recommend it.

Date of visit: August 2017
2  Thank getawaymoreplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Fantastic, quirky place, that's a bright pink building with a lot of flamingos! Our bartender was great, friendly, and attentive. Our waitress was fantastic, welcoming smile, and helpful for to a couple people that have never been to Bayfield. She was a great server, along with helping with local recommendations for things to do and places to see. It was hard to decide what to get, many things that sounded good. We ended up with a pizza, which was one of the best pizza's I've ever had. Thin crust, fresh ingredients, and mouth watering. I recommend dinning at Maggie's if you find yourself in Bayfield. Great place with great charm

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Had lunch here in a group of three. The burger was particularly good and was cooked properly (medium rare) without even asking. The fish sandwich was also pretty good but not as crisp as I would have liked. The big disappointment was the polenta fries that many people raved about - pretty bland and tasteless even with the sauce.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank Wandering963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We were in Bayfield for a day trip. My husband has celiac and Maggies was the perfect choice. He ordered a delicious gluten free pizza that we all coveted. We also ordered the brisket sandwich that was scrumptious as was the hamburger. The iced tea selection was fantastic, try the mango. The coffee was great The service was very good. The fries were phenomenal and the creme brule served with sorbet was to die for. It is seldom that you can find a restaurant that understands celiac and provides great food for everyone.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mitzithemarvelous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maggie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing