We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great food”

Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood
Ranked #15 of 5,695 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place, great food”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very pleased with the meal here,shared the Cioppino, still had enough left for another person. Owner Gigi made us feel at home, as did all the staff. Well worth it when you're in San Fran. Small place, but we went early and had no problem. Thanks Gigi and crew!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nelson958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,356
    430
    97
    26
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very real and down-to-earth service and pretty excellent food”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I really liked this restaurant and would definitely come back!!! I came with a friend and I was a little late (around 30min) because of trying to navigate the bus system. The hostess wouldn't seat my friend until I arrived, but she gave my friend a glass of wine while she waited, which I think was very kind of her, and the hostess only gave me a little grief when I finally arrived (hilarious actually). We had oysters on the half-shell for an appetizer, and I had the linguini with seafood with white sauce. It was really delicious and well-worth the hour and more that it took me to get to the restaurant!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
757 reviews
439 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,410 helpful votes
“Great meal in nice cozy setting...”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Definitely I can see why this place has great reviews. We ate lunch here yesterday and had a great meal. Great soup and also the Crab legs were great. My mother in law had Lobster and raved about it and my sister in law had a Shrimp dish she said was great.

All our dishes were great. It was very busy so I recommend reservations. Our server was very friendly. I'd definitely recommend it and come back again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saintba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
186 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best restaurant experience, if there was a catagory past excellent I would tick it.”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I hope it says it all when in my five day trip to attend a convention in SF I was reccomended this restaurant and I came here three times. Farallon is good and I suppose you pay for it, but here you get the most beautiful fresh fish and shellfish at great prices. I was here on my own and sat at the bar but its the best place to be because you can watch it all going on. They have a habit of introducing you to people next to you, and met a new friend! Staff are what makes the whole thing work so well, I urge you to put this on your list of eating places if you are in SF but get there early.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonNifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what I expected...”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

To sum it all up the food was pretty good, owner was very nice, Service was not good and the price was ok.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goodybeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing