We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (761)
Filter reviews
761 results
Traveller rating
54
194
271
144
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
194
271
144
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviews photo booth bart station few blocks convenient location downtown sf cable car
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 761 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Even though we booked 7 months in advance, when we arrived the main building was full, so they put us in a dated, shanty motel section outside. The room was dissapointing - uncomfortable bed, scratchy sheets, not enough pillows, no complimentary water, broken air conditioning, peeling wallpaper. There was an unusually high holding deposit of $150 considering how basic the room was. At £100 a night, I was expecting better. We've just stayed at hotels in NY and DC which cost less and were far better equipped!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank tomeden37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles W, Front Office Manager at Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hello tomeden37,

I'm very sorry we did not live up to your expectations. I hope that you reached out to our front desk team with your concerns. They would be more than happy to assist you if there were issues with your room. Our team would gladly deliver additional pillows, and check the A/C to ensure it was working correctly. Our courtyard rooms are typically only provided when our guests book that room type. If we did not provide you with the room type that you booked, please contact us and we will happily remedy that for you.

You are correct, Good Hotel does not advertise nor offer complimentary bottled water. We do have bottled water available for purchase in the room. In addition to your coffee maker in room, we also provide coffee and tea service every morning in our lobby.

Again, we are sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations.

Regards,
Charles W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

The room was clean and comfortable. It is close to transport links to get you around San Francisco and although there is no breakfast, you can grab a coffee from reception before you head out. There are a lot of homeless people around this neighbourhood and I was nervous at first after reading previous reviews but they don't bother you and keep themselves to themselves. The doors of the hotel are locked after 11pm and I never felt unsafe. It is a good base for a reasonable price with good transport links.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rachel_91b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles W, Front Office Manager at Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Greetings rachel_91b,

Thank you for your positive 4-star review of Good Hotel. As you mention we are conveniently located near MUNI metro, BART, and many buses. Coffee and tea are available every morning and a mini coffee maker is also available in each room.

We hope that'll you choose Americania again on your next visit to San Francisco.

Warm Wishes,
Charles W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

In the Good Hotel it feels like homecoming. It’s my second stay here and the staff is super friendly. Ashley helped me out real good, she even got me shopping tips hollah! Best there is to stay, the rooms are neat and the parking is safe. All you need to make your stay in San Francisco amazing!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank CharlotteM3788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles W, Front Office Manager at Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Greetings Charlotte M,

We truly appreciate your sincere, positive review of Good Hotel. Our friend front desk team is always willing to help our guests have a wonderful stay. We thrilled to hear that front desk host Ashley was able to help provide shopping tips.

On your next visit to San Francisco, we hope you're return home and join us.

Warm Regards,
Charles W
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

We stayed at the Good Hotel recently and on the whole had a good experience. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff pleasant and very helpful. There was a strange smell, but noticed the same smell in other buildings so came to the conclusion that this was the smell of San Francisco. The area was not as bad as some of the reviews suggest, there are worse places in Manchester! We saw homeless people but they did not bother us and we weren't afraid to go out after dark. We had a couple of problems - no ac so the rooms were very warm and the fans only worked with the lights. We had to open the windows and this let the noise from the streets in. I use ear plugs so was not disturbed, but my husband was. There is a little hand wash over the loo, which did not shut off and flooded the bathroom on our last night. I used the towels to mop it up and told the staff. Sorry - we forgot to hand our room key in when we left - do you want us to post them to you? The shower gel etc were a great touch and replenished daily. Not usual in a smaller hotel. Thanks for a great stay.

Room tip: Our room was fine but a little too warm and noisy with the windows open. We were on the second floor.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles W, Front Office Manager at Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Greetings Barbara A,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience while at Good Hotel. Our team is happy to hear that your found our rooms clean and comfortable. Thank you for informing us of the bathroom inconvenience. We appreciate knowing about it so that we can fix it.

No need to ship the key card. It's your souvenir now. We hope to see you at Good Hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Charles W
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

This place is 100% worth your money. My partner and I stayed here for one night and were very satisfied. The rooms are as described - clean, comfortable, modern and well-lit. There was nice shampoo, conditioner and lotion available as well. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. There's also free coffee and tea available! The location was very close to Union Square and other major sites, and I didn't feel unsafe during my stay. Yes, there are people experiencing homelessness throughout the city, but they don't go out of their way to talk to or bother you.

Definitely recommend and would stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alexa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles W, Front Office Manager at Good Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Greetings Alexa P,

We are so happy to read your 5-star review of Good Hotel. Our friendly staff works hard so that you can relax and enjoy a carefree stay with us. Coffee and tea are available every morning and we're happy to hear you enjoyed it.

We hope you choose Good Hotel for your next trip to San Francisco.

Warm Wishes,
Charles W
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews