We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,585)
Filter reviews
1,585 results
Traveller rating
483
734
264
60
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
734
264
60
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshitchcock filmunion squaresutter streettenderloinceiling fanwalk in wardrobefew blocksdecent sizeflat screen tvfree coffeestayed here for nightsdesk staffpublic transportcable carfisherman's wharfaround the cornerhomeless people
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,585 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Stayed here from 25 April 2018 for 3 nights as part of a 10 day visit to California and Nevada to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday.

Checked in was very easy and we were given a nice room. It overlooked the back of the building which was quieter.

Lovely hotel and a good location.Union Square was a 10 minute walk away which was good.

Gregory on reception - what a lovely man. Every hotel should have a Gregory!!!

Found a great little cafe across the road for breakfast called the Cosy Cafe - run by a Chinese family. Loved going in there every morning for my breakfast - had the same thing every day,Bacon Scrambled egg and a large tea (typical Brit with tea).Prices were very reasonable and place where many locals ate too.

Would I stay again- yes I would.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wiganlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime G, General Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Hi wiganlass,

I'm very happy that you had a lovely 1st time in San Francisco for 3 nights! I'll definitely pass on your compliments to Greg our amazing and singing front desk superstar! Thanks again for your review and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

Jaime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently situated for Union Square. Staff were friendly, rooms were clean and spacious. My only criticism would be that the hotel do not respond to guest enquiries via their online contact form. We were having difficulties booking the airport shuttle via the hotel website, prior to our visit, and asked the hotel for assistance. Guess what? We’re still waiting for a reply! We solved the problem by booking another shuttle company.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Brixham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime G, General Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Hi Brixham23,

Sorry to hear that your online inquiry wasn't answered and I did check to see if we had any outstanding emails unanswered but that came up negative. For any future guests that have questions and are planning on staying with us please call or email the hotel directly as 3rd party inquiries or reservations are not send to us directly. Despite that little hiccup I'm glad you had a nice stay and you enjoyed our location, friendly staff and clean rooms.

Jaime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights at the start of our California holiday. Great location. Easy to navigate from here around the city.
The room was a really good size and very clean. Couldn't fault it.
Greg on reception was very helpful with planning bus routes, much better than the app.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime G, General Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hello Dave M,

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel! It's great to read that Greg took such great care of you and that you enjoyed the location of our Hotel.

Cheers,

Jaime Gonzalez,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

We stayed here 4 nights. The car parking a block away turned out to be $25 per night as we did not need in/out privileges and pulling up in front to load and unload was not a problem. For parents with a teenage son, there was plenty of extra room within the room which is not always the case with big city hotel rooms. Although the bathroom could have used one more towel rack. the set up worked better than many I have been in.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank barbarasT9423IB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime G, General Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hello barbarasT9423IB,

Thank you for the 5 star review! Parking in San Francisco can sometimes be a little difficult, I'm delighted that everything worked out great for you. Please come back and see us again soon!

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

We have recently stayed at Hotel Vertigo for 3 nights and we had a wonderful stay. We found the hotel room to be a very good size and very comfortable, we had 3 very good nights sleep.

We celebrated our wedding anniversary during the stay at Hotel Vertigo, the staff noticed our anniversary cards to each other whilst cleaning the room we stayed in and when we arrived home from a day exploring the city, we found there had been some chocolates left for us from the hotel. A very nice gesture which we thank them for.

We found the location of the hotel to be excellent, it is in walking distance of union square and Chinatown. We also found it a short walk to find a tram to ride which is simply a must if you stay in the city. Other points of interest like fisherman’s warf are a simple taxi/bus ride away.

Next time we are in San Francisco we will definitely be returning to hotel Vertigo.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime G, General Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hello Andy S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Vertigo. We are very fortunate to be a small part of your wedding anniversary. I am glad that you enjoyed the chocolate we placed in your room. Thank you for you comments; hope you return to our hotel the next time you decide to come to SF.

Best Wishes,

Jaime Gonzalez,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews