We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Hotel Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Triton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Triton
Ranked #71 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Best Hotel Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Staying at Hotel Triton was a truly incredible experience. The staff- particularly Vilen and Valerie, were exceptional. From the moment we arrived, they went above and beyond to provide us with the best service we have ever experienced anywhere. Each day we stayed, it just got better and and more personalized. Hotel Triton made us feel like real VIPs. Total rock stars! Beyond that, it was like staying with good friends-good friends who happen to own a hotel, are ridiculously generous and want to show you the best time ever. We can't stop talking about how great this hotel was and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    558
    201
    92
    53
See reviews for
226
581
116
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Triton was a big disappointment. Granted i took the lowest price room, but it was so small that the double bed was up against the was so i could only get into it on one side.

But the real problem came at 3am when the garbage trus pulled up under my window and made enough noise to wake the dead for nearly a half an hour.

The next day after I complained I was moved to a quiet and larger room at no extra cost. But the hotel obviously knows that certain rooms (I was in 322) will be disturbed and should at a minimum tell the guests and offer deep discounts to anyone who decide to stay there despite the noise.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmh1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Hello bmh1207 ~ I'm so sorry to hear about the first night of your stay. I hope that as you can see by the other reviews that this is not the norm for the hotel. I would love the opportunity to make it up to you should your plans ever bring you back to San Francisco. Just reach out to me directly and I will take care of the rest personally. We hope to hear from you soon and see you back even sooner.

Take care,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I was totally overwhelmed when trying to finding a hotel in San Francisco. When I stumbled on the Triton during my extensive online searching, it seemed like a funky risk - either it would be completely awesome or an overblown and poorly executed dud. Talk about the former! Totally amazing, amazing, amazing! I think it is the best hotel we've ever stayed at - and we've stayed at quite a few nice ones.

I joined Kimpton "In Touch" (their free loyalty program) when booking the room to guarantee free internet (a program perk). What a good and lucky move on my part! We arrived in the room to find a $10 mini bar coupon for In-Touch members. Moments later a hand-written note from the manager and a free bottle of wine were delivered to the room simply because I was an In Touch member. It didn't cost a thing! Talk about an awesome loyalty program. If I wasn't loyal before, I am now!

The room was very cool. Small, but to be expected in a hotel located right next to the Chinatown gates in the middle of the Financial District. Still it had room for all of our things and we were pretty happy with it. Unfortunately, we didn't notice until we lay down in bed at night that our room was right next to the air handling units on the seventh floor. Talk about loud! The noise was at just the right frequency to be really annoying AND to rattle the headboard. We thought we might get by, but two seconds with our head on the pillow and I was calling the front desk. No questions asked they got us settled into a new room. The next day another hand-written note appeared in the room offering us free ice-cream for our troubles! Problems happen, but the true extent of a good hotel is how they were handled - and this was handled flawlessly.

We missed the free wine happy hours because we were out exploring the city, but made good use of the very funky, artistic, lobby, enjoyed the art in the mezzanine, and asked lots of questions of the staff, who were very helpful. We loved the little hotel dog, who would stop by to greet you in the lobby. And the location was great...walk out the door and you are in Chinatown and within blocks of all the Cable Cars and a bunch of museums. The card store next store was a great and convenient place for postcards and the cafe a fine place to stop for a cup of espresso.

The last night we tried to find a late night hangout and failed miserably, so instead we returned to our hotel room, opened the free wine and rang the front desk to see if we could still get that container of free ice cream. They brought it right up and we sat in the room enjoying the comfy atmosphere and our perks.

I would definitely come back to this hotel and now, whenever I'm in a city with a Kimpton in it, I'll be staying there. They've made me a loyal customer. NO other hotel chain has managed that. Bravo!

Room Tip: Well avoid the seventh floor corner. If you can swing it, go for a king, which might be a bit of a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astro17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My sister and I stayed there for her b.day. We were treated better than family; surprise treats, cards, constant laughter. The windows open so we could hear the street sounds, cool robes, crazy fun colors, textures and located close to everything plus they allow dogs which is always a delight. Coffee is delivered to hotel by local roasters on bicycles; people there are gems. Kinda pricey but if you have to spend $, spend it there.

Room Tip: If you love the city, ask for one over the street. The room is well insulated when window closed but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2justbreathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle, ma
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great place. Roomy rooms. Friendlly Service. Perfect Location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pileated11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,909 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triton

Property: Hotel Triton
Address: 342 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94108-3607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Triton 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Triton is a creative vision made real. Sprung from the imaginations of San Francisco artists, the Hotel Triton is a colorful and ever-current showcase of the pop culture that keeps this city vibrant. It is a welcoming wonderland that cares for you as if you were the Greek god for which the hotel is named. Across from the Chinatown gates, the Hotel Triton is conveniently located near San Francisco's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing