We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #5 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Nothing spectacular but covers all the the necessities with a certain aplomb.Nice comfortable rooms,excellent service and great location.Only disappointment was the response from the hotel when my credit card details were compromised on their booking site.I got a curt apology and nothing else despite the fact that I told them that I had to rebook all our hotels etc for our trip around the US.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on 4th floor as the air con roof units next door are level with the windows an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onecork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 77 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

Great location close to Union Square , however be aware there is no A/C in the rooms, something that came into play during our visit . With the windows open, you certainly know you are in the center of the city ! The renovated rooms were very nice and the breakfast selection was good. No lobby , so you will have to choose the restaurant next door or the Westin for afternoon cocktails.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SCSouthernTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

What a wonderful introduction to San Francisco. This delightful boutique hotel is close to everything - virtually in the heart of the city. From the most wonderful welcome including some chilled champagne on a hot day, this was a memorably stay. Our room was comfortable, very clean, good bedding and fairly roomy. Loved the breakfast, all day tea and coffee and the wine and cheese at night. I had heard about the evening cookies and they were really delish! Every staff member was professional, friendly and genuine. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Our room had no view but was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatsyanneBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Top notch hotel in a great location in the Union Square area. The service is outstanding. We arrived before 10am from the airport and were allowed to check in early. The hotel has complimentary wine and cheese every evening for an hour and a half. We had a pleasant time meeting other guests, and truthfully you could make a meal out of it if you wanted to. One night we got back from a tour after the wine and cheese and the front desk sent a complimentary bottle of wine to our room when we asked. Oh, and they have freshly baked cookies every night, too! The rooms are small, not unusual in the city, but very quiet. The bed was very comfortable. The view out our window was the brick wall next door since the buildings are right next to each other, but at least there was no traffic noise!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bbtraveler9398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Recently stayed for four nights, this was the fourth time we have stayed at the hotel in the past six years. The recent renovations have updated the appearance of the interior, whilst still maintaining the charm. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, with a mini fridge and in room tablet, great for planning daily activities. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast offered plenty of choices, and evening wine and cheese is a great way to meet other guests. Our room, a king suite, was at the front of the building, and although there was street noise, it was not unacceptable and is to be expected in the inner city, it did make you feel part of San Francisco being able to hear the cable cars and the music from Union Square in the evening. Thoroughly recommend the Inn at Union Square to anyone looking for a friendly, boutigue hotel stay in the inner city.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms towards the rear of property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _jocyharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,575 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#17 of 231 in San Francisco
694 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#4 of 231 in San Francisco
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 231 in San Francisco
1,528 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 231 in San Francisco
5,396 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €189 - €341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing