We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,872)
Filter reviews
1,872 results
Traveller rating
1,328
430
81
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,328
430
81
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine and cheese union square continental breakfast other guests evening cookies warm cookies freshly baked cookies small hotel boutique hotel hard boiled eggs brick wall yogurt evening wine post street sitting area ceiling fan perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
979 - 984 of 1,872 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Just spent 4 days at The Inn, and had an amazing time. The staff were so helpful and helped plan our day with advice on trams, buses and good places to visit. Complimentary breakfast was a bonus and we enjoyed the managers reception each night where we met other travelers and the Manager who had interesting stories to share about San Fran and it's residents. No air con but when we asked a portable fan was placed in our room and it was fine. The location is great and would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting a friendly handy place to stay .
J & D Davies NZ

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here June 27-29. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Great location…close to Union Square (Tram pick-up, arts, etc.). Service is GREAT...especially Wayne ...the 5 o'clock complementary wine guy...his history and stories of the San Fran area were fantastic…only downside was no air conditioning…but that’s what you get when you stay at a boutique hotel…Yes. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at the Inn for a week last summer, and it was just perfect! This narrow slice of heaven provides a cocoon of comfort and indulgence after a day of walking and exploring this beautiful city. The convenient location in the heart of Union Square puts you close to everything. The front desk staff know everything and can help with directions, recommendations, tours, etc. The room is cozy, and there is no view, but it's quiet and comfortable in the heart of the action on Union Square. Complimentary happy hour and bedtime cookies made it seem like we were honored guests in someone's home. The owner came one night and visited with us. We can't wait to go back, and we will definitely book the Inn at Union Square again. It will be our home whenever we visit San Francisco!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure to host you during your visit to San Francisco last summer. We appreciate the kind comments and are pleased that you enjoyed our central location, our friendly and helpful staff, evening wine hour and of course, our fresh baked cookies each evening. We look forward to your return which we hope is soon!

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at The Inn at Union Square for 4 nights in June. It is in a fantastic location and enabled us to walk everywhere. The staff are very helpful and the hotel is lovely - very characterful and quirky. We stayed in a suite and found it to be very comfortable. Our only small complaint is that the wifi was very slow and unreliable and air conditioning would have been nice. Breakfast was great and they even provided cookies in the evening which were wonderful. They have happy hour every evening, although we didn't go as we were always out. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I had read so many positive reviews about this hotel, that decided it was the one for our family reunion. We prepaid for the five rooms which we needed. This was a considerable savings as advertised on the website. Each of the rooms were a good size. One of the rooms was a junior king suite which was perfectly adequate for our group of nine to gather in for coffee or pre dinner drinks. We enjoyed the evening reception, but due to the size of our group took our wine and appies and met in our room each night - worked very well.
The included continental breakfast was more than adequate! Although the breakfast/reception room was a little small - it was a great opportunity to meet other guests and exchange travel stories!
The rooms were clean and very well maintained. The staff excelled in their assistance and attitudes towards the guests. They were more than happy to meet all of all requests. The location was perfect for sight seeing, shopping and accessing great restaurants!
I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again when we return to San Francisco. It is terrific value for the money!

Room Tip: If you are with a group, it is worthwhile having a junior king suite for entertaining.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hockeymom89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Guest,
We sincerely appreciate your recent visit and for sharing your comments. Our staff takes great pleasure in providing our guests with an exceptional experience; from clean, well maintained rooms to our helpful and accommodating staff. We are pleased you enjoyed our great location, complimentary breakfast and evening wine and appetizers. We look forward to your return visit which we hope is soon, and often.

At your service,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews