We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel in a quiet area”
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“excellent hotel in a quiet area”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

we have stayed at this hotel the 2 times we have been lucky enough to visit San Francisco. its got small dollhouse like rooms. i liked it even more the 2nd time, because we really got to appreciate its great location in a nice quiet neighbourhood. very friendly, helpful staff, great supermarket (trader joes) just a block down the road, nice cafe over the road and walking distance to the italian area (great restaurants and shops). such a good hotel and if i get the pleasure of visiting san fran again, i will be staying there yet again!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    393
    118
    35
    18
See reviews for
161
458
108
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga,CA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I loved my stay here! The location is perfect, you can easily walk to fisherman's wharf in a few minutes, Ghiradelli Square, the cable car lines, Little Italy etc. are also very easy to walk to. The hotel is really charming. The rooms are basic but clean. The doors and bed squeak but it's not really an issue. The shared bathroom and shower we're always spotless and i never had to wait to use them. Each floor has a little area by a window with a massage chair and a few magazines to read. They also have free wi-fi, just ask for the password at the front desk. Overall, this was a great hotel for travelers on a budget! I will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Some rooms are attached, with a locked door in between them. This means you can easily hear your nei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank timocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I love the San Remo...found out about it through a friend a decade ago and nothing in the city quite compares. Turn of the century (the last one:) charm with lovely attention to detail (skylights, plants, antiques and FUNCTIONING antique plumbing), sweet touches (raisins and sandlewood soap!) and kind, helpful staff. Terrific location and amazing price for what you get, which is a totally comfortable and unique experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the San Remo for two nights last August and we were so happy with our choice. As other reviewers have said, it's clean, comfortable and incredibly affordable. Note that the cheapest rooms do not have their own washrooms, but we never found this to be a problem; all the shared spaces were *very* clean. Also, great staff (they let us check in a few hours early, provided us with maps, etc.) and centrally located neighbourhood - we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieAnne12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
234 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We're in the penthouse for gull sakes. Did staff clean the wine glasses? NO!

How stupid is that!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 228 in San Francisco
1,978 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#65 of 228 in San Francisco
4,078 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Property: San Remo Hotel
Address: 2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1899
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — San Remo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco's oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our rooms are cozy and small, our prices are proportional. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing