We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel I have ever stayed in”
Review of Hotel Whitcomb

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Whitcomb
Ranked #175 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“worst hotel I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I have been around the world including 3rd world countries and I have never had a worst experience. The hotel smells, so much that I could sleep. The room was dirty and the bed had no support.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. Unfortunately we are dissapointed to hear that you did not have a positive experience with us. We hope that some time in the future you will give us another chance to change your mind. If so please contact me personally to take care of your reservation.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    737
    796
    450
    357
See reviews for
542
922
242
552
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Stayed for 6 nights on business, and couldn't have really asked for anything more. Buses are right outside and there is an entrance to the BART right there also. Rolando and Esmerelda checked me in quick and answered any questions I had. The rooms are a little old, but not without some charm (high ceilings, comfortable beds...but crappy TV/tiny shower). You can take the BART from the airport to the hotel and vice versa for about $9. The bus into the city (Market and 4th) takes about 5 minutes and costs $2 per ride (its a 10-15 minute walk). I didn't see too many homeless people and I walked around a lot. Try Sam's Diner across the street...great service there too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKDE03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Whitcomb and for sharing your thoughts about your stay. We are pleased to know that two of our team provided you with such great service. I will make sure to share this review with them both. Please remember to stay with us again if you are returing to San Francisco.

Thanks Again.

kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The lobby is beautiful and historic. The employees were great. I was able to store my luggage well after I checked out and use a private location to change clothes. The rooms were medium clean and the walls were scared with patches and small holes were stuff was once hung. But the vintage fixtures and bathroom were a refreshing change from the cookie cutter modern hotel chains. I really enjoyed the old world charm.

Public transportation is nearby along with quite a few street people. None of them bothered us however and we felt reasonably safe.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cool6t5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay. It is good to hear that your enjoyed the historic elements of the hotel and had a great overall stay with us. We do hope that each time you return to SF from So Cal you keep the Hotel Whitcomb in mind. See you again soon.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2012

As soon as my shuttle stopped in front of the hotel, I knew I picked the right place to spend my time in the Bay Area. Location: Close to a public transit (BART) which was a plus since I had to visit some relatives in the east bay. Price: Affordable especially for a historic hotel. Service: Excellent Customer Service!! The front agent who helped me was very kind and helpful. Check in and check out was a breeze. Room: Clean and cozy. Overall rating: I was very satisfied with my stay at this hotel. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit =).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Synthia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. We are all pleased to know that every aspect of your experience was positive and that your had a great time in SF. I will be sure to share this review with our staff so they know they are doing well. Please keep us in mind next time you are in the Bay Area.

Thanks,

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My family and I stayed at The Hotel Whitcomb while we toured the city of SF. We checked in on a late Friday afternoon thinking it would be a long process since they seemed busy. But I was wrong. I was accommodated by a nice gentleman who was very professional and polite. We were checked in right away and have no complaints with the quality of service given. The room had a vintage feel which added to our SF experience. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quality service at an affordable price.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coffee1love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at the Hotel Whitcomb. We are pleased to know that not only the service was excellent but your overall trip to SF was also. Please know that we appreciate your comments and hope that you stay with us again in the future.

Thank You.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#120 of 229 in San Francisco
1,185 reviews
Serrano Hotel
#97 of 229 in San Francisco
2,629 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#124 of 229 in San Francisco
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#186 of 229 in San Francisco
754 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Whitcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Property: Hotel Whitcomb
Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing