We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,878)
Filter reviews
2,878 results
Traveller rating
1,226
1,056
374
136
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,226
1,056
374
136
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room dart board ping pong fisherman's wharf food truck giant connect table tennis life size great location fire pit funky hotel fun hotel nautical theme balcony room beach street partial view around the corner
Filter
Updating list...
1,223 - 1,228 of 2,878 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We booked online and received the fourth night free! Our room was clean and bright, with a nice window seat for looking out onto the city. As we didn't rent a car, the location was perfect. Everything was in walking distance. Restaurants very close by, Fishermans Wharf, Alcatraz, Pier 39 and the Golden Gate Bridge. I definitely would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason W, General Manager at Hotel Zephyr, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Colleen H,

Thank you so much for recommending Hotel Zephyr. The Z Team works hard to make sure all of our guests depart with positive memories of us. Be sure, if you didn't this time, to reserve a bay view room next time you are with us...the views are spectacular!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. Booked through their official website and got the 4th night free. We booked the city view and was upgraded to the partial bay view.

First the not so good
1. The bathroom was small. If you have two persons in there (which is a common occurrence), it can get rather claustrophobic.
2. As you are probably aware by now after reading all the reviews, there's no onsite restaurant at Zephyr. This can be a problem for some but from our perspective, the inconvenience of having to venture out to find breakfast was kind of outweighed by the abundance of restaurants around the wharf.
3. Sound insulation of the room could. E better. We could hear noise from the outdoor quite clearly and we were on the 4th floor.
4. Slow free wifi - advertised as 3mbps. It tested as 2mbps (as pictured). If you'd like to have faster connection, you'll have to pay.

Now the good
1. Bed was extremely comfortable. We had the best sleep of our entire trip at Zephyr!
2. Great location. Minutes walk to pier 39! Lots of public transportation options.
3. There's a supermarket (Safeway) 2 blocks away
4. Huge Samsung LED TV in the room. There's also a charging dock with 2 USB ports provided. Very handy.
5. Great outdoor and indoor areas adjacent to the lobby. Would be a fun place for kids and adults alike.

In conclusion, a nice little hotel in a desirable location close to attractions and easy access to public transportation. Room was a tad small but well equipped.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank garylG7641RF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason W, General Manager at Hotel Zephyr, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Greetings Gary-T-L,

Your pros & cons of your stay with us at Hotel Zephyr are very kind and most helpful. We will certainly look into the things we can control that you mentioned. We very much appreciate your business and hope that we can accommodate you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The hotel room and facility was well decorated and had a good vibe. We booked the hotel due the location and amenities, such as the game room and outdoor area. We were traveling for pleasure with children and stayed at the hotel for 3 nights / 4 days. The hotel amenities were great - loved the game rooms and the outdoor courtyard.

The hotel site doesn't mention that the outdoor area and game room are accessible to none guests via a restaurant (Johnny Rockets). Room keys are not required to enter any areas within the hotel (game room, room floors, outdoor area). On one evening when we were in the game room, a homeless man had entered the hotel via the front entry and gone directly into the game room and a bathroom off the game room. Hotel staff did not notice the man entering the property. We notified hotel staff as there was a 9 year old boy in the bathroom that the homeless man entered. During the time in the bathroom, a mother monitored the situation until hotel staff showed up and then profanities were being exchanged between the homeless man and hotel staff in front of the 9 year old child. Another night, we experienced two issues with a homeless man at the restaurant which had immediate access to the open courtyard area. The homeless man frightened our 9 year old and 11 year old boys. On multiple occasions throughout our stay we expressed concern with hotel staff but nothing changed.
If you plan to stay at this hotel please be aware of the following:
1. The main elevators to the room floors are off the front entry door. Room keys are not required to access room floors. Hotel personnel did not monitor these doors during our stay and the front desk is a ways away and if staff is checking in our out guests they won't see non-guests entering the property.
2. The courtyard area is totally open to non-guests. Hotel personnel did not monitor this area during our stay.
3. The game room is accessible via the front entry and the courtyard. There were non-guests utilizing the game room during our stay. The game room does not require room keys to access and hotel personnel did not monitor during our stay.

If the hotel could create a safer environment for guests, including children, this would be a great hotel. The game room and open area needs to be restricted to hotel guests and monitored by hotel personnel at all times. The front entry needs to have a dedicated security officer present at all times.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
2  Thank SandyDalTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason W, General Manager at Hotel Zephyr, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear SandyDalTex,

As I stated to the person you were traveling with in another review about the same situation, we appreciate your We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Guest safety is our number one priority and we take your feedback extremely seriously. While, like many hotels, the property's public spaces (such as the lobby and yard) are open for non-guests to enjoy as well, we do employ a security company that patrols our entire property. We understand your concerns and appreciate your business and your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I have a real problem with the negative post Audio Cat posted. I have been to this hotel many times and have never had an issue. Yes there are homeless but that is a part of San Francisco. LA is just as bad and actually San Diego is horrible. No matter where i go i have to watch my kids, especially in urban markets. The courtyard area is wonderful for kids and we can sit and watch them play connect 4 while we have cocktails by the fire. I would recommend looking at all of the other reviews except for Audiocat cuz you will see everyone seems to be happy. I would highly recommend this hotel when you come to San Francisco!!!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UsaLovestoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason W, General Manager at Hotel Zephyr, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear UsaLovestoTravel,

Thank you so much for your note of support of Hotel Zephyr. We appreciate all feedback from every guest and take safety & security very seriously. We look forward to seeing you again, appreciate your business and are glad that you enjoy our spaces and location so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Couldn't get a much better location for a few days at Fishermans Wharf. We were also lucky enough to catch the Fleet Week airshow, the rooftop carpark was a great vantage point. Room servicing times were a bit odd (7pm??), but lived with that.

Thank Mitch B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jason W, General Manager at Hotel Zephyr, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Greetings Mitch B,

The Fleet Week air show from the car park at Hotel Zephyr is a pretty amazing view. Look out for an event up there next year for the airshow. Thank you for taking time to share about your amazing experience with your family. We hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews