We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super small room but good hotel standard”
Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #90 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 21 September 2017

When we booked this we expected we wanted to have hotel standard without any extras, central location and not too expensive. And this is exactly what we got. Very satisfied.

The hotel is located 3 minutes from the cable car stop (beginning of the line) and you have a lot of shopping nearby.

The staff of the hotel were professional and friendly.

Coffee and muffins for free in the mornings.

If you want to save some money for parking, I recommend to use one of the parking structures in the near (5th&Mission parking)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maximilian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 2,379 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

I'm a solo traveller who likes large cities and boutique hotels. The Mosser met all my needs. The building is old and interesting. The rooms are small but well-appointed and tastefully furnished. There's no brutal air-conditioning and the windows can be opened. It's right around the corner from the shopping on Market Street. Hotel staff accommodated all my requests, such as storing my ice packs (for my damaged Achilles tendons) in the staff freezer. Transfer to and from the hotel in the airport shuttle was trouble-free. I stayed in a Queen room with ensuite bathroom. I appreciated the complimentary toiletries, and liked it that they have eco-conscious practices, like allowing you to signal that you will use your towel a second day and that you don't need the sheets changed after only 1 night. Very much enjoyed my stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LadyDiazepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

More of a hostel than a hotel!
Arrived in our 'freshly cleaned room' to a couple of hairs in our sink... ew!

Room was too small I came out covered in bruises on my legs from squeezing round the hard wooden bed frame getting into bed both nights. Room was very stuffy even with window open at night. I slept on top of the covers both nights! Room was so small that we couldn't fully open both suitcases.

Shared bathroom was annoying at night time walking down a hallway half asleep trying to locate it! You could have had more than 1 bathroom to each floor!!! We were only there for 2 nights so I avoided the shared shower till I got to my next hotel. My boyfriend used the shared shower and hated it!

Wouldn't recommend this to anyone visiting san fran & definitely will not be returning in future.

Only positive thing I can think of is that it was an ok location. But if we return we would rather stay closer to pier 39!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank hollyanneodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

The location is fantastic, close to cable car, bus and trolley. Lots of choices for food, drinks, and shopping, if that is your thing. The room is a bit snug, but fine for our needs. We accepted the offer of a bathroom upgrade for 20 bucks per night plus tax, and were happy with the decision. They had a free wine taste on the Friday night, which was nice. We would happily return to The Mosser.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandals246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Really nice hotel. good location. nice rooms, clean and well presented. free muffins for breakfast in the morning and their coffee (also free) is very good.

staff friendly and accomodating, especially David C!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dan6iel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#92 of 230 in San Francisco
1,865 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#122 of 230 in San Francisco
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
744 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
1,421 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3193
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €82 - €261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing