We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Definitely has to be my go-to place when I need a hotel in San Francisco.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #96 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Definitely has to be my go-to place when I need a hotel in San Francisco.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

The Mosser is something of a hidden treasure in the middle downtown San Francisco. I have stayed at a few hotels in San Francisco and I have to say The Mosser is my go-to place now. The hotel looks great inside, and the front desk is really friendly, The rooms are very modern looking and always clean from the many times I've stayed there. Best of all, its smack in the middle of the downtown area. You have movie theaters, very reliable public transportation that can get you anywhere in San Francisco, great restaurants, bars, Walgreens, and the moscone center all within a block. The prices dont burn a whole in my pocket either so I have actually recommended it to friends. Overall its just a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dasreviewmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    971
    399
    134
    87
See reviews for
110
840
508
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Very good clean room, very reasonable price, reception area looks great & the staff were excellent. I was travelling by myself & the staff were very helpful & friendly. The location was also perfect - a short walk to everywhere!! I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeEklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Room was small but clean with comfy bed andfree wifi. Valet parking is available at 33dollars a night. The location was good, just off Market street where the main shops are and close to cable car togo up the steep hills.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

This hotel is a very pleasant surprise. The art deco lobby is beautiful. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Rooms are small but convenient and very clean. Location and price were wonderful.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for the private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank estoril2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, clean, comfortable, great location and I would definitely stay again. The only negative is the street noise from having to leave the windows open due to the rooms not having AC. I was traveling alone and stayed Fri-Mon in a shared queen. I dont know if I could share that room with anyone. Perfect for one but two might be a little uncomfortable. I dont know if it was even a 10 by 10. I was a little sceptical about the whole shared bath thing but it really wasn't an issue at all. The shared baths were always clean and available. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I'm glad I decided to step outside of my comfort zone by choosing the Mosser vs a Westin, Hilton or some other well known hotel. Spend your money in the city sightseeing! It was a beautiful and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjack830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Encore Express Hotel
#129 of 229 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 229 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#118 of 229 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Property: The Mosser
Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3193
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing